Zim or Zam?


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Victoria Falls
January 24th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Victoria FallsVictoria FallsVictoria Falls

From the Zam side looking at the Eastern Cateract
After doing a bit of research I decided that I wanted to see the Falls from both the Zim and Zam side so I could get both perspectives. I really glad I did because they are sooooo different. I decided on Zam first because there has been alot of rain since I got here. Funny that? It happens alot to me : )

The extra rain has meant a larger volume of water flowing making for a very impressive sight. Viewing from the Zam side meant walking through the Zim and Zam border controls and across the Vic Falls Bridge, a journey that takes about 30 mins. There are heaps of taxis if you're feeling lazy.

Whilst seeing the Falls I meet my first friend, Jody, who is an AIDS counsellor volunteer from Canada. It was good to have a friend again and useful when you're at the markets because they do tend to hound you as business is really slow at the moment.

After a lovely day of hanging out together Jody and I bid our good-byes and departed at the gate for she was staying in Livingstone in Zam, while I had to walk back to Zim. I got chatting to a local guy (my second new friend) on the way back so that passed the time until I got the the Zim border and they couldn't find a stamp in my passport for my departure. After I they finally spoke to me I explained that they never stamped it on the way out. After almost 30 mins of back and forth between them and me and people behind the counter they finally stamped the in and out stamps and I was free to go.

I arrived back to my accommodation to find my third new friend and roommate, Flick, a fellow Aussie who had just finished an overland tour. It was good to have someone to hang out with and eat dinner with. Flick was leaving the next day but not before we visited the markets. I got a few stone pieces and a thumb piano, not that I really needed more stuff to carry but they were cheap and I managed to trade stuff with some cash for them.

I headed off the the Falls from the Zim side. They were really different to view because of where you could view them
Victoria Falls bridgeVictoria Falls bridgeVictoria Falls bridge

People bungee off the bridge - it's the second highest drop at 111m
from and there was alot more wind. At one point I couldn't see them for all the water spray. I'm so glad I kept my poncho. It cost me $1 from Spotlight. They wanted US$5 on each side to hire them!!

After returning from the falls I found I had two more friends in my room, Clare and Debbie, both from England and also doing overland tours but from Cairo to Cape Town. After listening to their stories it sounds like such an amazing trip, especially Cario, but that's been on my to-do list for a while. I tried to convince them to come for High Tea with me but they had stuff to do with their group so off I set to the very posh Victoria Falls Hotel. The hotel was beautiful, the lawns were immaculate, the view was stunning, my tea was hot and strong, the food was fresh and the staff were friendly and warm. A perfect way to spoil yourself!!
(Thanks so much for the recommendation Susan - I'm so glad I went)

I'm off to South Africa next!
M
xx


Facts on the Victoria Falls:
1. They are 1.7km wide and
Falls from the BridgeFalls from the BridgeFalls from the Bridge

Aren't they amazing!
108m high
2. Annual average water flow of one million litres per second!! Higher in the wet season
3. They are known as Mosi-oa-Tunya in the Kololo language and Chinotimba in the Nambyaian language. Both translate to mean 'The smoke that thunders'
4. They are one of the 7 natural wonders of the world
5. It's US$20 to see them from the Zim side and US$10 from the Zam side but you need a day visa to cross the border which is US$10 so effectively the same price


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Just waiting aroundJust waiting around
Just waiting around

Monkeys at the Zim border
I found a friend!!I found a friend!!
I found a friend!!

We hung out for a while when I visited the falls from the Zim side
High Tea anyone?High Tea anyone?
High Tea anyone?

I enjoyed being spoilt rotten at the very posh Vic Falls Hotel which overlooks the Vic Falls Bridge
Vic Falls HotelVic Falls Hotel
Vic Falls Hotel

View I enjoyed at High Tea. The "smoke" is actually the water spray from the falls.
Hey Pumba!!Hey Pumba!!
Hey Pumba!!

Well Mrs. Pumba as she had two baby pumbas with her


28th January 2007

maggie, Love the shot of you in your poncho. The falls looks amazing. You are so cool for going to see that all on your own. Very impressed. Something happened to the blogs. I was not receiving the link when you posted new ones. So I checked, since you mentioned bloging recently and found a few that I never received notice for. No worries though, as I am now all caught up and anxiously awaiting a new one. I resubscribed so my email should be there on your list of subscribers. Check for me though please. Don't want to miss any of the adventures. xoxo marcus
3rd February 2007

LOST in Cyberspace
JUst found your blogs thru Google. Not coming thru in emails. Boo Hoo. so now I have caught up on your adventures! What a girl!! very proud of you.
5th February 2007

Not sure what's happening...
Hey Mum, Marcus said the same thing. I'm not sure why that's happened. Glad you found them. I'm overdue for another but haven't been able to get fast or reliable connections which really impacts on the time it takes to upload photos. Will get it done in the next day or two. Miss you. Love M xx
6th February 2007

Kids
Kids in 7H love your story. THey are so amazed. Told them about climbing the flag pole. People, only MVH would do that just because it was there!!! Proud of you kid!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb