The Garden Route


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Jeffreys Bay
February 6th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here kitty ktitty...Here kitty ktitty...Here kitty ktitty...

Two of the 7 month old lion cubs we patted at Seaview Lion Park.
After two short and painless flights I arrived in Port Elizabeth and was met by Trish, Charet and Sammy. Sammy is a delightful 3 year old who ran across the airport and gave me the biggest hug. I thought this was very cool considering the last time I saw him was over two years ago and he couldn't even walk or talk. After getting all my luggage we hit the road for Jeffreys Bay. Jeffreys Bay is a surfing hot spot around July when it hosts a huge Billabong surfing competition. The population explodes for the month and then again in December for annual summer vacations. It is beautiful. Golden beaches, great waves and alot of sun...Perfect combo!

The plan for South Africa was to stay with Sam and Charet for a few days then meet up with Beks, Simon and Trish and hit the road to Cape Town. Hanging out in Jeffreys Bay was great. I got to spend time with the Becks, see Sam's salon (which is amazing), shop, eat, drink as well as a few other things. We went to the Seaview Lion Park and were able to pat three 7 month old lion cubs. That was
So cute....So cute....So cute....

...you just want to take one home.
the most amazing experience. It was easy to forget the fact that they become such lethal killing machines even when at 7 months, they are already the size of a large dog! I tried to have a surfing lesson in Jeffreys Bay since its a surfing hotspot but I got sent to the wrong place, so tried another but they weren't there. So I gave up and went for a swim instead. Possibly a good thing because last time I tried to surf I was terrible!

Braai's or BBQ's are big in South Africa. Sam cooked an amazing meal the first night I arrived. We enjoyed another feast at Trish's parents house and yet another at Charet's parents house. I must say it's all about the meat. There is always loads of it and it's delicous. I've been able to try ostrich steak and believe me when I say it is the leanest and most tender meat. Another local favourite is Biltong, meat that is dried with various herbs and spices. It's so tasty and I wish I could take some home but I don't think the customs people would be very happy with me if I did. Plus of course there has been sampling of cocktails, and local beers and wine as well.

Apart from eating, which is up there as one of the most important part of travelling for me - in case you hadn't already noticed, other activities included going on the zip-line gorge at Tsitsikamma near Storm River. It's like going on a flying fox except you're in a harness so are effectively sitting down. We went on a walk the next day through the Tsitsikamma National Park. It was a lovely walk around the waters edge to a suspension brigde. Later we did another walk that took us higher up the mountain and we were rewarded with magnificant views of the coastline. Just for something different Bungy Jumping was on the cards the next day. The Bloukran's Bridge jump is the highest in the world at 216m. In the first two seconds as I jumped my breath was absolutely taken away. Then came the woohoo and alot of laughter. The safety crew were hysterical and were bouncing around all over the places - very infectious!

Sam and Charet met us over the weekend in Plettenburg Bay. We had the most amazing meal
The master at workThe master at workThe master at work

Sam cutting Simon's hair.
accompanied by several cocktails followed by drinks at a few of the local bars. It was a very funny night and felt like the old days of hanging out in London. In the morning breakfast was on the cards followed by a session at the beach before they had to hit the road and return home.

Trish, Beks, Simon and I are now in Knysna. Instead of being on the ocean side like other places we've stayed, it's located around a massive lagoon. Canoeing is on the cards for this afternoon as the last two days have been fairly quiet and lacking in activities.

Til next time!!
M
xx
ps. I've been told by a couple of people now that some of the blogs haven't come through so have a flick through the previous entries if you're interested : )



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Ahh...the head massage...Ahh...the head massage...
Ahh...the head massage...

Charet giving Beks a to-die-for head massage.
Mmmm...Time for cocktailsMmmm...Time for cocktails
Mmmm...Time for cocktails

Trish and I enjoying cocktails while the others were busy at the salon.
In our zip-line gearIn our zip-line gear
In our zip-line gear

We went zip-lining over a gorge in Tsitsikamma. It like a flying fox but you're in a harness.
Cartwheels on the beachCartwheels on the beach
Cartwheels on the beach

at the Tsitsikamma National Park
The BridgeThe Bridge
The Bridge

The Bloukrans Bridge is the highest bungy jump in the world at 216m.
It was a perfectly good bridge...It was a perfectly good bridge...
It was a perfectly good bridge...

...so why not jump off it? : )


6th February 2007

Wow
Do you ever stop. Those cubs are adorable. How was the beach compared to ours??No regrets eh! Blog picked up through Google. All Ok on the home front. I hope you are not blonde yet! Kids in class love your antics. Told them you were born minus the fear factor. love
7th February 2007

marg's going sick!!!!
good work marg. sounds like your having fun. say hi to all. see you in oz.
7th February 2007

U are mad!!!!!!!
Ohhhh my god!!!!! u are a total looney.....I love it!!!! You would have had to push me off that bridge!!! Just got your journal link and have worked my way thru all.....sounds amazing!!! will have to find out when I can call to hear about it!!! Love you babe...Stay safe
8th February 2007

Excitement
Hi Margaret, Have suddenly received your blog - brilliant - and have accessed all the earlier events. What a holiday, have lived through it all as I browsed. Thank you for sharing, continue to enjoy, take care, see you soon. Luv Ann, Honey and Ralph xxx
9th February 2007

NOW I AM REALLY JEALOUS!
Hey petal, you are still going! I have just caught up on a few more of your blogs and it looks and sounds like you are having an awesome time. Good on you, you are certainly getting to see and do a variety of things while you are over there. The Vic Falls jump looks wicked and the little tiger cubs are so cute! I would ask you to bring one back for me but I don't think the puppies would like it too much! Looking forward to seeing more blogs coming through. Take care, be safe and continue having a ball, can't wait to hear about all your stories when you get back. LOL. Shea.xoxox
12th February 2007

Hey Dean, Are you going to be in Sydney for the boat party in 2 weekends time? M
14th February 2007

Sorry you've on;y just received a link to them. I didn't realise until quite late in the trip that they weren't coming through. I'm still a bit baffled as to why they don't send automatically. Glad you enjoyed them though. See you when I get back. M
14th February 2007

The bridge had a 100% safety record so I thought it was the best and safest place to jump off a bridge : )

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb