Welcome to Zambia


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
July 27th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Zambia...that was the first thing I saw when I flew from Joburg to Lusaka, the capital of Zambia. It certainly was an interesting welcome.

I have a Lonely Planet travel book that told me a Zambia visa cost 25 USD. Great- I saved 25 USD in cash just for this trip. I got off the plane and went to the customs desk and they said 100 USD. WHAT? I don't have 100 USD in cash, what am I supposed to do. Well good thing I had enough Rand with me, because at the airport they didn't take a mastercard, so I changed my money from Rand to USD and got my visa. I have it for 3 years so I think I should come back to get my money's worth. Apparently LAST YEAR they changed the amount from 25 to 100. Thanks Lonely Planet.

So I finally figured out how to get into the country of Zambia. I took a taxi from the airport into town. Once in Lusaka, I went straight to the bank to get some money with my MC. I greeted a man in the bank with a gun....Zambia's way of protecting their banks...interesting approach. I told him I just wanted to get money out, but he told me I had to leave the bag with him. Ok well i decided to leave my bag of clothes with him since I kinda needed some money. I got in one line and immediately the lady called me forth and asked me what I need. Well of course, the only white girl in a Zambian bank looks a little out of place. She said, "go to line 3 or 4." I went there to see in huge letters "FOREIGN." Oh- that's where I am supposed to be. So I finally got my money with a mastercard. I ate some lunch and hopped in a taxi to the bus station. The bus station was CRAZY. There are many bus companies, and they just stand outside their bus and try to get you to ride on it. After getting out of the taxi there were people trying to "help me" get to where I was going- of course I had to give them some kwacha (Zambian currency). Finally I figured out how to get onto the bus that went to Livingstone.

I got on the bus and i stayed there....for 3 hours. Apparently the buses don't leave until the buses are full. Welcome to Zambia. So we finally left at around 4pm. I sat with two girls, Pamela and Precious. I was the only white person on the bus. I guess I was experiencing life with the locals. The bus ride was amazing. Despite some initial apprehension, I was very glad that I experienced the bus ride. I got to see a lot of Zambia that way. The whole time I just stared out the window and talked to my new friends. We only stopped once to use the restroom in a little town where I bought some nshima (corn mealy food) with chicken. Interesting to say the least. Finally at about 10pm I arrived in Livingstone. I told Pamela that I was going to go to Vic Falls and she said she wanted to come with me. So I told her I would call her. Then I finally arrived at my hostel where I stayed the night in a 16 person room. The hostel is right in town and filled with other American, European, and Australian backpackers.

Today...I slept in until 10am. It felt amazing, but I was a little disapointed that I missed part of the day. So I woke up and started heading to the place where I could take a minibus to the falls. THe phone wasn't working so I gave up on finding Pamela, but right at the bus place there she was. It was so weird. So we hopped on a minibus and drove to the falls. I don't think I can describe how amazing and beautiful they are. WOW!! The falls are a mile long, and they are gorgeous. And, it is the dry season here so they weren't as full and big as they usually are. I had to rent a rain poncho for 5,000 kwacha (2 USD) to take with me because we were so close.

After seeing the falls, Pamela and I hiked down to a part of the River where we could see the bridge over to Zimbabwe and the rapids. Again, it was pretty incredible. After that we went to a Curios market where I have already bought a few things. All of the people trying to sell me something say "Sister (sounds like SISTAH)...let me show you something." They proceed to shake my hand and attempt to show me their crafts. I bargained for a few things, and I was pretty happy. THere was a man that wanted to trade something for the purse I bought in Costa Rica and another wanted my ponytail holder....hmmm....interesting.

Now i am just hanging around the hostel trying to meet people here to go out with. I don't want to go out alone so I will just stay here and eat the brei (BBQ) that they cook for 25,000 kwacha (6 USD). I am having a blast in Livingstone. I don't know what I am going to do tomorrow. Perhaps go shopping some more or just hang out and rest a little. I might go on a walking safari. There is tons to do. OH and I totally forgot...Pamela invited me to her church on Sunday. HOW COOL. I am meeting her at the bank at 8:30am to go to a Church of Christ church. I'm so pumped.

Ok well I have written enough. I leave Livingstone on Monday where Jenni and Maritza will pick me up again in Joburg. They are incredibly nice. I am so glad I connected with them. I hope everyone at home is doing well. I miss you all.

Cheers from Zambia,
Jill


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb