I'm here


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
July 25th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"So if we are going to be kind, let it be out of simple generosity, not because we feel guilty or fear retribution." -J.M. Coetzee out of his book Disgrace

I am reading a book from a South African author, J.M Coetzee, about a man living in Cape Town. It deals with some of the racial complexities of post-apartheid South Africa, which becomes my segwey. South Africa, I have been here for only 3 hours and the airport and taxi ride were full of sights. I walked into the pristine bathroom to find a black woman cleaning and handing out paper towels to all of the white travellers. When I got into the taxi and started driving, I immediately noticed the landscape. I was greeted with a township right by the airport that was filled with shanties, shacks, mud, and trash. Butted up against the township were beautiful homes and buildings that anyone would see in the US or Europe. In the distance was the incredible Table Mountain. This city is diverse both economically and geographically. The land's beauty was breathtaking.

The taxi driver was incredibly nice and chatty. He took me straight to the Projects Abroad office where I am writing this blog. I met Alyssa. She is incredibly nice, and we have much in common. She is only a few years older than me, and she just got married a month ago to the project manager here. They met in college at the University of Montana and then ended up coming here and loved it. She is actually from Minneapolis so I told her about Kristin's wedding. Alyssa also shares the same passion for social inequalities, especially racial and gender, which is why she really feels called to Cape Town. It will be nice to have her as a resource. We are about to go to lunch in a little. At 6 I fly to Joburg where I will meet up with Jenni, a mutual friend of Sara's. Tomorrow I am headed to Victoria Falls. I don't know when I will be able to update again, but know that I am safe and all is well so far.

Dios les bendiga,
Jill


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb