Lubasi/Zambezi


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
July 29th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday morning I went to Lubasi Children's home for the morning. It is an orphanage for children ages 5-12. When I got there the children were gardening. I talked to the director for a while to learn about the programs. Most of their parents passed away with complications resulting from AIDS. The orphanage was started by the catholic church and runs on the funding of the Livingstone community and other donors. The children have made tye-dye tablecloths for craft time to sell for fundraising. I started gardening with some of the children, and then they wanted to teach me how to play netball. I understanding the basic concept, but the language barrier made it difficult. Basically you have to throw the ball to your teammates and then toss it into a metal hoop, but if you have the ball, I don't think you can move your feet. Anyway, the children were adorable, and they were very welcoming towards me. Immediately two of them grabbed my hands and walked me around the orphanage. They showed me their gardens. At the home they are growing lettuce, eggplants, and other assorted vegetables. After netball, I sat down, and all the children started playing with my hair. Good thing I didn't cut it before I came. Then they sang me some Sunday School songs. That was pretty incredible.

I left the children's home and walked through the Murumba market on my way back to the hostel. The market was HUGE. They sell just about anything and everything. The whole way back people just looked at me and said "Mazunga...Mazunga" which means "white person." All of the children on the way back would shout that and point at me, and then I would wave and smile and they would either laugh or smile back or get really shy.

Last night I went on a boat ride down the Zambezi River. I saw hippos, a croc, and giraffe. Our tour guides were pretty awesome. I also met some girls that are volunteering in Zambia. They were from Brazil, Germany, Hungary, Finland, and Slovakia. After the cruise I went with them and our boat tour guides for a drink. We had a blast just joking around and talking about our different cultures. Mainly when I meet Europeans, as was the case when I studied abroad, the first thing they ask me is how I feel about the Bush administration and my view of Bush's foreign policy. It makes for an interesting conversation to say the least. Then, when they find out I study Religion/Theology, we proceed to a discussion about the validity of religion/the church as an institution/Christianity in America. I really enjoy hearing other people's takes on America, although it is usually negative.

This morning I walked to church with a guy that is originally from Zambia but has since moved to Germany. He was staying at the hostel and wanted to come to church so we met Pamela there. The service was about 2 and a half hours. The singing was incredible. I didn't know what they were singing, but feeling the sense that we were worshipping the same God was pretty great. I also got to partake in communion which was very special. Then at the end of the service the pastor asked if the visitors would stand and introduce themselves. I was the only visitor, and since I stick out like a soar thumb, everyone kinda chuckled when I stood up. And....no one can pronounce my name here. It seems like no one can really pronounce my name anywhere. I always get Jo, or Joel, or Joan. I have to spell it for them. Oh well.

Today I am just going to hang out at the hostel for a bit and read. Tonight is a full moon so there is a lunar rainbow over the falls. It is supposed to be incredible. I leave tomorrow for Joburg. It has been a great visit here, but I am getting anxious to start my program in Cape Town. I am enjoying the messages and emails from everyone. Sorry I can't respond individually right away, but I will try at some point.

God's peace,
Jill


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb