Victoria Falls,Zambia


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
June 20th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Here everyone, my last blog was picked to be on the opening homepage of this site, that is pretty cool, that means maybe more will read these entries and simply realize how blessed we all are.

I have made my way to Zambia. By, far these people seem the friendliest of those I have meet. I am not saying the other countries were not friendly, just more guarded in their reactions, with good reason I might add. Here it seems that they are really friendly and want you to have a positive impression of their coun,try so you will return someday.

I have to say that I thought the Sheraton is Addis was the best hotel in the world, but The Royal Livingstone Lodge is far beyond that. It sits right on the Great Zambezi River and the famous and the wealthy frequent here. I can't give you to many examples because it would take so long, but there are velvet moneys everywhere, Giraffes and also, Zebras wondering around on the property. The rooms are beautiful, even the turn down service is special, they come in and light floating candles all over place, put your robe on your bed,
Victoria FallsVictoria FallsVictoria Falls

This is a sign of God!
beside the remote and the TV guide.

Big Downside... the mosquitos. They work hard here to control them. They set off a mist in your room at night to ward them off and supply bug stray to each guest. See Malaria is very common here, so most of us from the states are on the anti-malaria drugs, to help stay healthy, but it is a serious problem.

I have not done much here, I arrived yesterday afternoon, but I find my self unable to relax. I think I would have done better to have scheduled this first, because I almost feel guilty being here when I left so many who suffer. It is hard to turn the voices and pictures off in my head...I'm trying. I have scheduled a visit to town to see some clinics, hospitals and more of real life here!


I am very curious as to how many people are following my wild adventure.... I know that this blog site has been passed along to others, which is wonderful! So please comment and introduce yourself and let me know what you think. I think I am just the eyes, but all of you out there are the brain and together, maybe we can think of something that might serve man well. People keep asking me what can we do to help and I have a few small ideas. If there are a small amount of people that care, miracles can be worked. I have seen here projects that start with 2 people and end up helping thousands. So I am proud that you are lettting me be your eyes, but we all provide the hearts and the brains to maybe make a difference. So let me here from you!

Advertisement



21st June 2005

Beautiful
Wow this looks like a beautiful place too. Everyday I hear from another friend to whom I have passed on the blog to who was moved by your words. I think you should think seriously about a book, your outlook is unique and refreshing. I read an article in The Nation magazine about Africa and her natural resources. About how due to economic deals cut with the governments (including ours) is and has stripped African countries of their natural resources (ie. oil, nickel etc...), leaving the people who live there impoverished and the countryside polluted. She contends that with saner and freindlier economic deals that it would help the people of Africa a good deal more than increasing aid (not that I am against increased aid). Not that that it going to happen anytime soon as the agreements are too friendly for the governing bodies to turn down. Just a thought to put out there to the community following your journey. A talking point, if you will. Ok, all my love as always. I will be waiting impatiently for your next entry. Take good care of yourself my friend. Peace, Kelly Jo
21st June 2005

Pretty Amazing Adventures
Cathy passed this on to us so only got to read a little bit since at work. Wow is all I got to say! Definately makes you feel blessed with what we have in our lives. (By the way, YES your house is still standing!)
29th November 2005

...
Hi Kim, You asked people to post a comment so you'd know how many people are reading. I stumbled over your blog when I was looking around on the travelblog website and your trip so far and what you've been experiencing is absolutely fascinating. It's sad to hear what these people are going through and it's amazing how different people's lives are there compared to first world countries. Anyway, good luck and best wishes for the rest of your trip. Katei (Australia).

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb