I couldn't get them to smile!


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
June 21st 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

This picture says more then my words could ever say. For me it sums up my thoughts and feelings about Africa.
Let me know what it brings to your mind and your heart.


Additional photos below
Photos: 1, Displayed: 1


Advertisement



21st June 2005

1000 words
We all know the phrase, "a picture is worth a thousand words....." That being said, I should have much to say, but I can't because of the lump in my throat and the tears in my eyes. Love-Cathy
21st June 2005

I agree
I agree with Kim in the fact that even two people coming together to make a difference can become a group of thousands. I'm glad others are interested in making a difference too. "So powerful is the light of unity that it can illuminate the whole earth" Valarie in TX
21st June 2005

How can we help?
Kim, I have been following your every blog. I find them so very educational. The number one question that comes to my mind is "how can we help these people?" Thank you so very much for being our eyes. Love ya lots, Tricia
21st June 2005

their eyes
Kim; The pictures are breath taking and at the same time leaves one to wonder how we can tolerate the hunger and poverty in our world. I look into the eyes of these boys. If our eyes truly are the windows to our souls, then what I see in extremely disturbing and sad. The children of the world - our children - deserve better than this. They seem frightened, worried, guarded, and exude a sense of hopelessness - a hopelessness that no one cares. Such irony in the beauty of poverty, that one can see beauty in the face of adversity.
21st June 2005

final thought
If I were these boys, maybe living in squallor, on the brink of life and death, nothing but disease and destruction around me, I don't think I would/could smile for the camera either.
21st June 2005

the boys
Kim; Were you able to find out anything about these 3 boys? Do they have family? I wonder if there is anyone in their family living with HIV/AIDS or has died from it. It certainly could put things into perspective.
22nd June 2005

The End Of Poverty
Go and read "The End of Poverty" by Jeffrey Sachs if you haven't already. It chronicles what is happening, what is and is not being done and how this kind of poverty can, in fact, be eradicated in our lifetimes. Then use whatever channels you can to put pressure on your politicians.
22nd June 2005

Thank you
Kim, I have only gotten through a few entries, but I feel as if I am with you. You have such a gift for words. I just wanted to let you know I continue to think about you. Thanks for the good cry. Please continue to take care of yourself, the neighborhood just isn't the same without you. I know Cathy must miss you something terrible. I have enjoyed showing the pictures to Ben and Andrea and trying to explain what you are doing. take care Tina Tina
22nd June 2005

more thoughts
Like your friends who have commented, I too would like to know more. Are they related? How many things have caused them to lose their smile (illness, physical suffering, poverty, violence)? While only 3 children, their story resonates for many I'm sure. Sarah asked why they couldn't smile. I said they could, but they didn't have any reasons to smile. She was speechless; how often does that happen with Sarah? I know others have commented on how your entries have impacted them and their families. Kim, you have no idea how many conversations you have started, and as we have discussed before, just getting the talking started is a way to begin change. Since my brother commented on your house still standing, I'd like everyone to know that Toren is doing a wonderful job. While the kids miss their mom, they are happy and healthy! And Toren usually has a smile on his face too!!
22nd June 2005

You have always been a light in my life you amaze me too!
What amazing wisdom you can almost see in to the soul. and yet so guarded, but not sad just wise... as you feel sorry for them relize that they don't want your pity they want you to see their stength and ability to survive Love ya Monifa
22nd June 2005

Too wise for their years
This picture is amazing, as all your pictures are. Like everyone else who's written, it brought me to tears too. They look way too wise for their years and a little world-weary. All your entries just lead up to one question: where can we start? When you get back I will tell you about my friend Amy who traveled through parts of Africa as you have on another mission. Hers started when she read the articles about the myths of the old men, the virgin babies and HIV. She and hundreds of women make bears for the kids. It's turned into a fundraising and supportive effort for one particular village and their school. She's made a gigantic difference for a small group of kids and given hundreds of women the chance to reach out and care. I know you will do the same. Whatever your ideas are, you'll have a whole army of Moms behind you!!!! Take good care and keep writing!
23rd June 2005

You are writing a Book
Kim, Your blogs and pictures are becoming a book we all must read. Jesus told us, "The poor are always with us." But he went among them, touched them, cared with and for them. We often don't. Not because we are bad or make some clear-edged and conscious choice not to. But just because we don't. Your "book" not only invites us among the poor. It has and holds us amongst the poor. The three boys. Their eyes. The small part of their story you know and told us. They are with us and we with them. And when we feel our hearts open, we can finally become fully human. You, like the nun you found who was praying, are an angel. Love, Jim
23rd June 2005

"Side By Side"
This picture suggests to me the words of an old song ... "We ain't got a barrel of money ... we may be ragged and funny ... but we travel along side by side. I trhust you plan to write a book when you catch your breath after you return home. I know your love for your own kids is even greater because you are not with them. Take care.
28th October 2005

the picture is dope. It shows an older brother looking out for his siblings, who may or not be frightened by the photography. i do not see any connotations of poverty in it. the imagery in it is not synonymous with poverty as far as i am concerned

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb