Tanzania - Market


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
February 3rd 2014
Published: June 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -6.36903, 34.8888

3rd February
This was the best accommodation that we stayed in.
We woke up to see zebra only a few feet from our front door. At breakfast I was talking to the staff and I told them that I could hear this odd noise last night. It was almost like a deep sound that ended quite high from the back of the throat.
I gave up trying to describe it and just tried to make the same sound."NNNnnYYE."
I did try my best much to my families embarrassment.
"That is a hyena," they answered.
Great I thought.
Lucky I didn't go out and have a look.
We saw the foot prints near the kitchen area.
On our way back to Arusha we saw a market and asked if we could stop.
"Ok, but don't take photos," we where told.
WHAT.... really!
I took lots from the car and then headed out with my phone.
There where a few stalls but all of the other people just had a piece of cloth on the dirt and then displayed their goods.Tomatoes, onions, beans, fabric, clothing.
I had wondered off and my husband was interested in a clay round bottom pot for cooking.
He bought it.
When our guide saw him holding the pot he was agitated.
He said, "Men do not buy things for cooking. It's woman's work. You cannot have that. It is against our customs."
He quickly gave the pot to my daughter to hold.
All was good again.
The fabric was fantastic. So many colors and designs. They would wear two pieces of fabric of about 2 meter lengths. One was tied around the waist. The other over your shoulders. Both men and women wore the same.
The men wore the tartan - checked fabric while the ladies wore the amazing colorful printed fabrics.
We visited Maasai Museum and Snake Park on the way back.
We met an amazing Maasai young man at the museum and he had studied abroad in Germany and spoke perfect English with a proper English accent.
He was dressed in traditional clothing and these shoes or flip flop type of shoes made of tyres. We asked him if the shoes where comfortable?
He replied, "These are the shoes made with the motor bike tyre. They are more expensive and better quality."
"And how far do you walk in them?" we asked.
"For hours. They are very comfortable."



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb