Brought to Tears Article


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
August 10th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Would I be Willing?Would I be Willing?Would I be Willing?

"Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends." ~ John 15:13

Brought to Tears ….by Julie Richardson



In our decision to make the journey to Africa for the first time, Cy had told me to read a book called, “I Walked By His Side” written by Mrs. Claudene Connally. When I read it I laughed along with the stories, I cried along with the pains, I began to see a side of becoming a missionary’s wife that I hadn’t even begun to experience at that time. They endured so much more than we have had to these days, with the modernization of the world around us growing even over in Tanzania. But the simple things, the love of the people, the hearts of the people are all still the same. . It gave me a little insight as to the struggles others faced before us to clear the paths, make the way, and tread the heavy loads, and it just brings a smile to my face and tears to my eyes no matter how many times I read it.

I decided this week to read this beloved book of mine once again with bent up corners, tattered spine, and dirty edged pages, because for the last
"These things I command""These things I command""These things I command"

"These things I command you, that ye love one another." ~ John 15:17
5 years I have kept it with me, when I go to Africa to read as an encouragement, and when I am here in the states as a reminder. I keep it on my dresser in plain sight where I can look down and know that there is work still to be done. As I began to read this morning, one in particular story brought me to tears, as it always does, so let me share with you a short little story about a man named Osbert Gondwe.

Osbert had been hired to work with Claudene in her kitchen. He was known for being a very happy, cheerful, and pleasant young African man. Worked hard, played hard and had a great enthusiasm for life, singing in the kitchen, helping prepare children’s materials for class. A young newlywed and father to be, who came running to Andrew for help one afternoon because of his despair when he had lost his first child due to old family traditions and false beliefs. The child had been taken out and left in the forest with leaves stuffed down its throat to die or be ravaged by animals immediately after birth by his
His Glory Shall Be Revealed in Us!His Glory Shall Be Revealed in Us!His Glory Shall Be Revealed in Us!

"For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared to the glory which shall be revealed in us." ~ Romans 8:18
family who were not Christians, because her sister had seen her in labor. (oh how we don’t understand the superstitions of tribal people) You can read the pain in the words written about the broken hearted young man and how Claudine’s heart was just torn at not having reached this family to share with them how the love of God is stronger than any superstition or tradition. But later on, he and his wife had other children. A little further down the road Osbert had a cousin named Christone and Christone’s wife, Joanna, was very ill. So Osbert came to Andrew for help and the three men took her to a clinic. The doctors there said that she needed a blood transfusion in order to live, and since there are no blood banks in Tanzania, the three men were tested to see if any of them might have matching blood type for a direct transfusion. Christone’s didn’t match, Andrew’s didn’t, but Osbert’s did. It was very evident that Osbert was scared and afraid. Andrew turned to him and said “Osbert, you do know that if you don’t do this Joanna might die?” and Osbert said “Yes Bwana I know” he was quiet with eyes as big as saucers and asked Andrew, “Bwana, would you have given your blood if yours had matched?” and Andrew told him, “Oh yes, I would have been glad to” and his reply was, “alright Bwana, if you would have done it, I will do it” he laid there on the table eyes tightly clenched together squeezing the rail through it all and after it was over asked Andrew, “Bwana how long do I have?” and that’s when the realization hit that Osbert had thought that by giving up his blood that he would have been giving up his very life. He thought that he was going to die. Confused as Andrew began to explain the process to him and to get him up to get a drink and something to eat, Osbert said, “But Bwana I thought you couldn’t live without your blood” They comforted Osbert with touched and tender hearts knowing that Osbert had been willing to lay his life down for a friend, because Bwana had been willing to do so also. This endured Osbert to their hearts even more than before. Not many ever have the opportunity to show that kind of sacrifice, but Osbert shared his faithful love with all those who were around him.

This is the perfect example of the sincerity of faith and love that we still see today in the lives of the brethren in Tanzania, who have so very little but are always willing to give what they have and do what they can. It always brings me to tears. ~Julie







Advertisement



21st August 2006

Now you're cooking!
Great Article ... I remember the story myself from her book. I added myself to your subscriber list!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb