Lasagna Lessons


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
September 24th 2012
Published: September 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the diet of Tanzanians, it consists of rice, ugali (a corn meal concoction that resembles mashed potatos), beans, vegetables, fish, and chicken. It is a very basic diet. They eat what they can afford so, unlike at home, there aren't a lot of variations on a theme. As I have mentioned in past blogs, they make soup from what is available to them. Oxtail & chicken soup are two popular choices.

I introduced lasagna to a few co-workers awhile back. Cheese is not a part of their diet so many were apprehensive to try something new. For those who were brave enough, they loved it. Some had tried it before and were ready to dive in and have some more.

A week or so ago, Anna and Gaure from the office asked me if I would teach them how to make lasagna. Both of them had had it before, but were unsure of how to make it.

I gave them a grocery list of what was needed and they went shopping. They met at my house on a Saturday afternoon and I took them throough the steps. They chopped garlic, onions, tomatoes, and green peppers. They sauteed beef and they grated cheese. We didn't have to boil the noodles because, surprisingly, you can buy "oven ready" lasagna noodles here in Dar. Go figure.

With one can of tomato paste, 12-15 chopped tomatoes, and all the other vegetables, I have mastered the art of making sauce from scratch. Gone are the days of cans of tomato sauce and canned tomatoes. It will all be from scratch from now on.

The lesson went very well and Anna walked out of my place with a big pan for her family's dinner. Gaure, who does not have an oven at his house, cooked it at my place, cut it up in pieces and stored his lasagna is in my freezer. When he wants some for lunch, I bring it to the office for him.

It was a really good afternoon.

The VSO motto is, "Sharing Skills and Changing Lives" I have taken that motto to the next level... "Sharing Skills and Changing Lives... One lasagna at a time".


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



24th September 2012

GGimme Sommadat Lasagna!
Ooh boy, does this look and sound good, Bob...but what I'm really registering is all the love that was added to the recipe...deelish! xoxoxo
24th September 2012

Tomatoe sauce from scratch.. love it. Can\'t wait till you are home and we all get together and have some. With Salad and lots of red wine. Looking forward to it Bob. Love Deb & family
25th September 2012

"Sharing skills and changing lives...one lasagna at a time". Way to change the world Bobby! ;-)
26th September 2012

I told you so!!!
Hey Gordon Ramsey Lawlor,I'm not one to say I told you so. But hey, "I told you so." You leave lasting impressions where ever you are. That's my food for thought. xoxo
1st October 2012

Lovin' Lasagna!
I love the photo of Gaure and his lasagna! You create happiness wherever you are Bob! Okay, here's the deal. I'll make the cheesy potatoes for you on your return and you make the lasagna!! Deal?

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb