The Short Rains Are On Their Way


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
September 27th 2012
Published: October 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

As the autumnal (how often do you get to use that word?) temperatures start to dip back home, we in Dar es Salaam are feeling the heat rise and the humidity close in on us as we prepare for the hot season. Before we actually get to the peak temperatures in January, February and March, we must experience the "short rains".

Tanzania also has a light rain season that takes place in November. This is known as the 'short rains', which are often little more than a fresh downpour for a short period each day, followed by clear sunshine. This year, they seem to be starting early and they can even stretch from to December. Last year, we got very little rain which led to many power outages becasue there wasn't enough water in the reservoir for the turbines to work properly. This year, since the rains have started early, everyone is happy and hoping there will be fewer power outages. We will have to wait to see what happens.

The rains never last all day, like they do at home. Here, it can rain for an hour or two and then the sun appears and the humidity is
Pedestrians In The RainsPedestrians In The RainsPedestrians In The Rains

Umbrellas are a luxury item for most of the locals. I rarely see them being used.
crazy. The day can start out gorgeous and by early afternnon, the clouds have rolled in over the Indian Ocean and we get a deluge. When it rains, the drivers all seem to forget how to drive and the traffic jams start. The drainage systems in Dar es Salaam are less than adequate, leading to massive puddles, pot holes, and walking paths that are muddy. I won't even begin to tell you about the smell of raw sewage we experience on a daily basis at the Selander Bridge.

Another aspect of the short rains is the return of the mosquitos and cockroaches. I am starting to discover mosquito bites on me when I wake up in the morning. The ceiling fans are starting to work overtime as I try to keep cool under the mosquito net that is meticulously tucked in every night around my mattress.

In addition to mosquitos, I am finding roaches in the house once again. I bought new plugs for the drains in hopes of stopping the entry points into the house. So far, so good. Only three roach sightings.

In fact, last night I was telling my friend, Jeanne from Gurnee, Illinois,
Motorbikes In The RainMotorbikes In The RainMotorbikes In The Rain

Wearing a helmet when on a motorbike is not a law here.
about the success I was having with the lack of cockroaches. It was at that very moment that I looked up above the curtain rod in the living room to see a cockroach perched where the wall meets the ceiling. It was a good size.. the body was probably about 2 inches. Its antenae was probably another inch and a half.

The roaches here don't move very fast. It must be the heat. I can see one in my bedroom, walk to the front of the house, get a shoe (you know where I am going with this), go back to my bedroom and it will still be sitting in the same spot. Maybe they aren't afraid of humans. Who knows? I take the shoe to it and flush it. They just don't bother me anymore.

Many times I will find a roach in the house that has, somehow, ended up on its back. It is alive but cannot get itself back on its feet. This happened last week... I got my camera out to take a picture so that I could share it with you.

You're welcome.

FOOTNOTE:

I may sound nonchalant in my
The Street Behind The OfficeThe Street Behind The OfficeThe Street Behind The Office

This street consists of dirt and rocks. It become a mud bowl in no time.
writing of this blog entry, but to be honest, I am feeling my skin crawl as I type this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Traffic In The RainTraffic In The Rain
Traffic In The Rain

The traffic is rarely good in Dar es Salaam, but this shows you what happens when it rains.
The Bigger One Goes FirstThe Bigger One Goes First
The Bigger One Goes First

There seems to be so few "Rules Of The Road" in Tanzania
Waiting It Out At The Holiday InnWaiting It Out At The Holiday Inn
Waiting It Out At The Holiday Inn

You can see the rain teeming down as people wait for it to let up.
Trying To Stay DryTrying To Stay Dry
Trying To Stay Dry

School kids in their uniforms waiting for the rains to ease up.
Rain On The RoadRain On The Road
Rain On The Road

Without proper drainage, the rain gathers on the road and usually evaporates when the sun comes out.
Roach #1Roach #1
Roach #1

I found this one on its back in the guest bedroom... I had not guests at the time.
Roach #2Roach #2
Roach #2

This one was found on its back in my bathroom. I almost stepped on it in the dark. It was alive when I found it... but not for long.
Jeanne's RoachJeanne's Roach
Jeanne's Roach

Since I found this one while I was on the phone with Jeanne, I named it after her. This one didn't last long either... Sorry Jeanne!


9th October 2012

Ewwww
Bobby, if you're trying to get people to visit you in Tanzania, I don't know that putting up pictures of roaches in your home is going to work. ;-) Actually, if I had to pick, I'd say roach #3 is the cutest, and the rainstorms look like they'd be great to witness (assuming you were inside viewing the storms through a window).
9th October 2012

Our roaches are bigger in New York! xx Jack

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb