Finally Here! WAHOO!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
June 18th 2009
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jambo! (hello!) This is my first time being able to get connected to an Internet for it is quite hard while I am in the bush!  Everything is very good here!! It took a long time to arrive but it is well worth it! We thoroughly enjoyed our layover in Amsterdam it was so neat to see the city and walk around enjoying shops, museums and tours. Unfortunately because it is so expensive to connect to the internet, I will not be able to post pictures until I return to the states so I will do my best to explain through words for now. We have only been here a week and I feel as though I have gained so much already…its truly amazing. I’m sure it will take me quite a while to process everything but I don’t even want to think of the end yet so I won’t!  hehe My favorite part so far has been connecting with the people. Our conversations usually consist of “Hi How are you? How do you say your name again?”  then there is generally an awkward pause (there is a LOT of social awkwardness here but they don’t exactly see it as awkward which just makes me laugh! ) It is not unusual to have many silent moments in conversation  lol too funny Everyone has been very welcoming and friendly and patient as we try our Swahili  I find that when I converse I use very simple English and try to break it down for better understanding. As of now I have been working on “to-do” projects around the school such as painting and varnishing (the black boards are just concrete in which we paint black  gotta love it!) You realize what you truly need out here and you do not waste anything. The children are wonderful and truly enjoy their picture being taken which thanks to digital gives them instant gratification so they are truly hams  and we have enjoyed laughing with them. There is a lot of laughter here…..  and very little stress…..very little. I am starting to look through curriculum books so I can decide what level to teach and I am excited~ the students come back July 6th and there will be around 400. Right now there are only about 100 and they are prepping for exams, which take place later this year. The most refreshing thing here is the freedom of the people~ they are real, worship freely and are so happy. They live for the moment and I practically melt every time I hear them sing~ it is truly beautiful  I have enjoying singing praises with them even though I have the slightest idea what the words are I usually move my feet, clap my hands and hum  I wish I could bring some of you all out here to see it too  I will try to be the best messenger I can.  Mtebe (the head master) teases me saying that he wants me to stay so he will just tie a rope around my leg and keep me to a tree to keep me here . I think he is serious  Anywho~ I hope this finds everyone well and I will try to keep my blog updated as much as possible. I do miss you all…..but in order to keep my heart hurting too much I look around and think of how blessed I am to be in such a beautiful place and I’m learning so much….on many levels.  I love you all greatly! Until next time…. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb