July 5th Update


Advertisement
Africa
July 5th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hamjambo! Greetings from Tanzania!  I hope this finds everyone happy, healthy and enjoying their summer! Things here are going well….very well  Here are some highlights from when I last wrote… the other weekend I had the chance to attend a wedding in Mwanza (about an hour and a half away) with a friend here and it was very interesting! The bride keeps a sad, downcast face the whole time! This is to show respect for her family; showing she is sad to leave them… I wanted to tickle her to make her smile~ girlfriend this is a happy day! HELLO!  so it was interesting  but anywho I also got a chance to make two new, wonderful friends~ Steve and Silas! Oh my goodness they have been such a highlight! They are Socuma (spelling? A tribe in Africa) but there English is very good so we communicate and LAUGH like crazy! They have me laughing SOO hard ~ they have certainly been a true blessing! A definite highlight!  They have quickly become new life long friends and they are very dear to me…. Truly blessed….
I have also gotten a chance to go to the Serengeti~ we saw elephants, hyenas, hippos, crocodiles, ostriches, gazzeles, and LIONS! WAHOOO!!!!! I got an amazing picture of lioness who was SUPER close to us- LIKE 10 FEET!!!! WAHOO WAHOO!!! So cool  can’t wait to show everyone 
We have new team members! YEAH! New friends and we have had a great time so far~ fortunately eveyone gets along and there is a true sense of team unity.  School starts tomorrow so I will begin teaching YEAH! I have already taught the teachers about Bloom’s Taxonomy and will contine to encourage them to encorporate critical thinking skills into their classrooms. Starting tomorrow I will be teaching 4th, 5th and 6th grade science. Things will pick up soon as the students begin returning from break. So far I have only been on campus when there have been about 100 or less students. We are soon to have close to 400!  Will definitely be exciting! I hope this finds everyone well! I am happy, healthy and enjoying every minute here….  Much love to you all!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb