That's Africa Baby


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
June 18th 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today was so much fun! I am so in love with this country!
We had an out of town trip today into Marangu, which is about an hour away from Moshi. If you know anything about African roads, than you know an hour in the car is definitely not pleasurable! I think starting yesterday was the first day I didnt feel as though I was in a movie. Anyways, today our first stop was at the Chagga blacksmith. They were handmaking hunting spears, medication pots, and musical instraments. I actually had someone hide my money from me so I wouldnt buy anything else! I met a guy named George who was very eager to get my contact information so I could sponser his university education. Then we went to a traditional African market which was crazzzyy...and disgusting! There were chickens and pigs being slaughtered right in front of us. In most places, like the market in Tanzania we are not allowed to take pictures unless we want to pay each person in the picture a dollar or more. There was also a little boy who came up to me with a camillion and says Take a picture!! but this was sadly a trap to be entitled to give him money. Besides this, the market was amazing...and out of a movie like picture. I also tried to carry a bushel of mangos on my head today...but i sucked at it!! Then, we were off to a Chagga cave which was unbelievable. It was in the middle of the village and we had to climb down a STEEP ladder to get in the caves. These caves were used hundreds of years ago to hide the Chaga women and cattle from the Massai tribe or neighboring enemies. After we went to the base of Mt kiliminjaro which still had a really high altitude. Here we ate lunch and started our hike to the Kiliminjaro waterfall!!! Lets just say that after that climb it's difficult to even type this blog. It was like hiking through a rainforest...actually like climbing b/c half the time everyone felt as though we should be in harnesses..and all we had to hold on to was unsturdy bamboo. When we finally got to the waterfall, it was absolutely amazing and we hiked across the current up to the rocks at the base of the waterfall. It was amazing!! It was difficult to have such a great time when less than a mile away are children with no clothes on or food. Animals here are also treated awful. Actually to the Africans its just life...they are animals here but it's still difficult for me as I love dogs which are treated...well as dogs. I finally decided today that I am FOR SURE doing the one day Kili hike which is like running stadiums for 8 hours!!! I know it will be one of the greatest challenges of my life, but im sure it will be amazing!

Every few days we have public speakers. So far we have had them on Tanzanian family structure, the educational system, and political structure. I wont get into it all now, but if you have any questions please let me know. Im sure no one out of Africa has heard, but right here in Moshi there is big news about the Witch doctore. No one knows who he is, but he or his people have been capturing children on the way to school and has been murdering them and stealing their parts. Right outside my friends placement at a school, a 6 year old girl was found mutilated with her organs missing and female organs destroyed. Many mothers have become obviously terrified to let their kids come to school, which is causing a major decrease in students. Its very difficult to seperate the atrocities here to my everyday great life here.

I know this has been a long blog, but this has been one hell of a trip and I know I want to come back for years! I love my placement and have found the child (Heleni) who i want to adopt! She is one of my orphans at Tuleeni and im sponsering her education for the next few years. By the way, which is about $35 a month b/c there is not exactly a public school system b/c it so ridiculously corrupt. Eventhough its against CCS rules, Dave and I, who is another volunteer is bringing the kids cookies tomorrow from in town! We also are starting a vegetable garden so they have other resources to rely on besides chickens. My kids are running out of food and money b/c the price of food is rising so much. Its really heartbreaking b/c people here are so desperate.

I cant wait for mom to get here and to tell everyone more about this trip....love you guys!! sorry for the crazy long blog


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb