update


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
June 14th 2008
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mambo!! Now, you say Poa! Here, that is like saying: hey, whats up? Or if you addressing an elder, you say Shikamoh (sp?)

Anyways, Africa is Great...of course!

Because it is the weekend, we have no activities planned at home or our placements. However, i am still going to the orphanage later to help out...and I miss my kids! Yesterday, we went out to dinner with the our huge 35 person group and had SHAKEY shakey!!!!! that is traditional dancing which was so much fun! It started out as about 10 African men performing dances and then started to bring us up on the stage with them. Eventually, we were all out of control dancing...(and many for other reasons)! This was also my first time to sucessfully use an African hole in the ground toilet!!! Eventhough it was a really nice restaurant, there are no western toilets. However, the porcilen surroundings were lovely!

We are going into town soon for lunch. It's very exciting b/c this is my first time to eat out at a real Tanzanian restaurant...dont worry, I know what to order not to get sick! Mostly everyone went on overnight or day trips to safari, hot springs, or kili so the house is really quiet. I am hoping to go with a friend tomorrow to the Juvie center to volunteer. My friends, whose placements are juvie, have told me horror stories about it. Apparently the kids only eat one meal every other day. Most are in juvie for stealing food for their families, and dont want to come out after their sentence is over b/c they do get that food once a day. I have another friend, who is placed at a womans group, and makes home visits to HIV/AIDS patients daily, and i'm hoping to go with her one afternoon next week.

I have many more stories to tell, but I have to go so will later!

I have also really enjoyed everyone comments and messages...they really make me feel so much better here. I am trying to respond to most today, but will later if I run out of time. Love to all!

Advertisement



16th June 2008

love your blogsite
Lindsey, i wish i were there with you...I can feel your excitement thru your updates! So Proud of you! Lori Weil
16th June 2008

love your blogsite
Lindsey, i wish i were there with you...I can feel your excitement thru your updates! So Proud of you! Lori Weil
18th June 2008

Awesome
Lindsey, love your descriptions and how heart felt they are. Can't wait to see you and hear and experience Africa. I love you, Mom
21st June 2008

Glad you are having a wonderful time. Enjoy hearing from you. Love. Memaw

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb