update


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jumbo!

hey yall!

It's really hard to know what to say right now. There is so much going on emotionally...this is very difficult.

This is amazing. but difficult. I have been at Tuleeni orphanage the past 4 days and have totally fallen in love with it. I promise to elaborate later but writing this now is almost to much. Although the kids dont have much, they are happy...sooo happy! I am teaching english and math which I was completely unprepared for! I am even making lesson plans!!! this is definitely when I need my sister, Allie! Anyways, the kids are amazing, and I have even found the one I want to adopt! I can't get into the situation much now but will later. I just wish I could bring everyone here with me, but I am so glad mom gets to share this experience with me!

The Tanzanian people are also amazing. Their focus is 100% on people and connections, not things, time, and plans. We even call time here Tanzanian time b/c everything runs so late! My friend Katie and I just took a 3 hour walk all over town and villages. I feel so safe and at home here. Moshi town is (CRAZY) to say the least, but in a good way! I have been every day after placement, and it's just starting to feel normal like not in a movie! People continually come up to me begging to buy things. The know we are Mazungos (white people) and expect us to but anything and everything! We just have to say Hapana Sante (No thank you) and then they get the hint! Everyone is soooo nice. If someone invites you into their home, they expect you to sit and have some tea and are offended if you dont. For example, at my orphanage, We (the three volunteers) ALWAYS have tea and this little cake thing. Regardless if we want it or not, it's rude to say no. I feel so guilty eating it when the kids only get a little Ugali everyday. Foreigners can not come into Africa with the idea that they need saving, because they dont. The just need help. They have their own customs and traditions which are sometimes impossible to understand, but it's just the way it is.

This weekend we are doing a one day hike up Kiliminjaro (about 8) miles and visiting the hot springs next weekend. Ive heard baboons come right up to the water with the tourist. The other volunteers and staff here are all amazing! The only bad part about Tanzania, is that I have spent wayy to much money!!
Across the street from our house, the locals have fabric and personally make anything! So far I have gotten two pants (one for mom and me) and two bags! I have also become friends with the owner Abbie, who is a painter trying to earn enough money for University. Here is cost about 2000 shillings ($2000). He is a Masai warrior who lives in the Bush, and told me many stories about his life.

no time to edit. sorry for mistake. love to all!


Advertisement



12th June 2008

Lesson Plans
Lindsey, I can definitely help you with lesson plans. I cannot send you links to the sites that have the lesson plans through this comment because they are automatically stripped, but email me at allie.weiner@gmail.com and I will email you back (Im having a problem with my other email account) with all the information you need. I need to know the ages of the students you are working with and the academic levels they are on (for example, in 3rd grade, but read on a kindergarten level) in order to give you the most effective lesson plans. For now I can tell you a great English lesson to teach reading is to teach the students simple songs ("I've been working on the railroad" is a good one to use) and print off/write up the words on a big piece of poster board to put in the classroom. Teach the song and then use the poster to have each child individually point to the words in the song whil the clas sings along. If there are lots of children I recommend more than one song (3-4) so the students don't get bored. As for a math lesson plan, I recommend using a math game to engage the children. I would also have to know more about the students levels of performance and age ranges to help you with math. As for helping Mama Grace, I want to help, but need to know where her son falls on the Autism Spectrum and what he is and is not capable of. There is an awesome program called Board Maker that helps students who have Autism communicate through a picture system. I am going back to Bobbie Fairfax on Tuesday and will talk to the Principle about a program to use for students whose native language is not English. I miss you so much and I am so happy that you are having a great time! I can't wait to hear from you!! Love, Allie
14th June 2008

thanks!
Thank you sister!!! \here, all my orphans call me sister sound like (sistaa) i wrote you a longer email....love you

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb