finally!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
June 9th 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jambo! Habari?

Hello! Not many words come to mind right now other that WOW! I can't believe I am finally here....this is the most beautiful humbling country. wow.

So lets see where to start. After leaving birmingham early Friday morning, I headed to Detroit for a three hour layover. Then, I met my new friend Heather and flew 8 hours to Amsterdam! Unfortunatly I did not sleep on this flight after taking an ambien! After meeting 6 people in Amsterdam and viewing beautiful dutch crafts, we boarded to 20 year plane to Tanzania!!! Here I sat next to another volunteer, Polly, who was meeting her daughter at the home base. She was a great temporary mother, continually reminding me to take my Malaria meds!

Finally, after touching down and exiting the back of plane down the stairs, I realized I was in Africa! People all around were cheering and kissing the ground!


Despite my overwhelming tiredness (and still am) we arrived at the home base aroud 11 pm. Here we were greeted my fellow volunteers and had Welcome juice made by Mama Grace and Mama Denise. It was a delicious mango/orange juice combination that was extrememly refreshing after 48 hour travel!

In the gated and secured property, there are wonderful huge Mango, cocunut, bananas and lemon trees which we can wash and peel whenever! There are two AMAZING houses. I am in the first with 4 roomates all under 20 years old, and we have our own shower and bathrooms which is nice! In the other, is a lounge and study area (which is where I am now).

This morning, I drank AMAZING chai tea, unlike anything ever tasted and sipped away with Mama Grace. She is an inspirational woman who has sacraficed everything to send her children away to private schools and then college. She practiced my Swahili with me while we shared family stories and goals to help her native country. We discussed her 15 year old autistic son who is not accepted into schools becuase of his disability and the stigma attached to it. She is desperate for resources to help him, and fellow African with stigmatized diseases like Autism and Aids. AIDS is not discussed here. At all. It's not ignorance of Africans as to why they encounter the disease. Its impossible to prevent something your clueless about. Its truly heartbreaking.

Unfortunately Mama Grace now has Malaria and is not feeling well, but is getting treatment. She has had it often in her lifetime but not in ten years. To my surprise, 4 fellow US volunteers have Maria right now. Not to worry you mom, but all are on the same medication as me. Despite western beliefs, Malaria is not a death sentence if treated.

Anyways, It's so surreal to be here, in Africa. In a country full of spirit, life, and culture, yet with heartbreak and disease.

Im going to take a nap.

LOVE to all.



Advertisement



9th June 2008

I miss you!!!
Lindsey I am so happy you have made it to Africa!!!! Your house sounds beautiful and your roommates sound like they will be great friends! Mama Grace's story is so inspirational and I would like to help any way I can. This is a great thing that you are doing and I am so proud of you. I love you! Allie

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb