You had me at Mambo!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello yall!

So yesterday...was my first time in the Dala Dala!!!!! That is van that carries people from town to wherever and has frequent stops. For a van designed to hold 15 about 35 people are STUFFED into one!! Although ccs strongly advises against using them for safety reasons, it was definitely something everyone should do at least once. I went with my friends Anna and Katie to a few towns past moshi and met Anna's friend who lives their and just got back from going to college in America. It was really cool to see how he and his community lived. We saw his neighbor with about 35 week old chicks, goats, and roosters that they kill for meat. Today after placement Eric, Dave, Mama Foragie of Tuleeni orphanage, and I went out to lunch at a place called Crisp Burger which is a very interesting African place trying to make american food. After we went to buy all kinds of seeds for the garden we are starting at Tuleeni. After Mama Faragie and I went to the local pharmacy. I bought 15 Malaria packets, worm medication, toothpaste, ointment, 2 bars of soap, an inhaler, and a first aid kit all for 25 dollars. Money goes such a long way here. Two pack of malaria meds are for Mom and I in case we are stuck in the middle of the country with no hospital. Each were only 50 cents. Its sick to think how many people die of malaria in Africa when 50 cents will easily save them. In fact we spend billions of dollars on people with Malaria when nets and sanitation are shown to reduce rates by as much as 70%! that would be billions of dollars we save. One of my kids Bahti who is 2 eats dirt b/c he doesnt get enough food and now has worms. He came to Tuleeni about 6 months ago after his mother who is mentally ill dropped him in a fire and tried to kill herself and him. Because of many burn incidents his legs and face are covered in scars. Right before that, His father died of Aids. the stories I have heard are so heartbreaking but so inspiring when I see how damn happy these kids are. We are also plannning a fundraiser for Monday to help send these kids to school. Because there is no true form of public education, government schools cost about $30 a year per child. This includes a uniform, one meal a day, and most importantly education. The one meal a day is most likely the only meal these kids will eat during the day. If they come to school with a dirty uniform or one that has holes in it they get corporal punishment.

I have decided to support my favorite child Heleni with primary education. I honestly LOVE this kid so much....she calls me her sister. To be honest, I really dont like kids except those in my family, but I lovelovee the kids here. They are just great and are so eager to learn. Right now Heleni goes to Mama Foragie's school Rupunga which is about an hour and half walk for the kids in the morning. All but two who have outside support must go their. Last year heleni broke her leg and had to get an opperation. However they couldnt afford a good doctor and her leg has not healed well...so that hour and a half walk is hell for her everyday. Tomorrow Heleni, Mama Foragie, and I are going to meet to withdraw her from the old school and register her at Moshi primary school which is about a 2 minute walk from the orphanage...not to mention its a much better school! I can't believe my 35 dollars for this kid who I love will save her so much pain. It is tough to only support one kid b/c the others start to ask for school fees. With the price of food its also becoming difficult for them to eat as much. We, as volunteers cant move mountains, but just playing and teaching these kids everyday really does make a difference. I can not believe I only have a week left here. My friend got sick in town yesterday and about ten Tanzanians stopped by to wait until she was done, rubbed her back, and made sure she was ok. Would that ever happen in America?? I am so excited for my climb sunday! Tonight we have a corn roast with Traditional African Singing! It should be fun. Hope everyone is great.

Lots of love. And please keep Tuleeni in your thoughts b/c it has really become like a home to me.


Advertisement



24th June 2008

Yeah!
Lindsey, It is so wonderful to read about your experience and see the world through your eyes. You are learning so much about life and getting an experience you would never have in the states! Congratulations!! Enjoy every second you have with every person..... and keep writing. ~Kendal Ogles PS - you've graduated.. which means you can now call me by my first name ;)

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb