Ugali and ginger beer


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 8th 2005
Published: December 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

SodasSodasSodas

This is Stoney Ginger Beer (Sw Stoney Tangawizi) as well as Pineapple Fanta, two of my favourite drinks here.
I managed to attend the morning worship for the first time yesterday at the cathedral. Unfortunately I had exactly the same problem as I did on Sunday, and again had to leave partway through the sermon. How long will it be before I can last an entire service? It wasn't as bad as on Sunday though, and I felt much better afterwards compared to then. I have theorised that part of my problem may be a lack of fibre in my diet (white rice and white bread) so I have asked for extra fruit at lunch and brought a packet of Weetabix for my breakfasts. Weetabix is unusual in that it is more expensive than in England, most things are cheaper, but the pack contains 24 biscuits, so I shouldn't have to buy it too often.

I continued to work on the website. I also had some passport photos taken for the residential permit, Tshs3000 (GBP1.50) for 8. They were taken using a digital camera, and unsually, instead of being printed out straight away, they were photoshoped first. They removed the glare from my glasses, as well as a rash on my neck caused by a combination of the heat
Ugali 1Ugali 1Ugali 1

Eating ugali is a tricky technique but I think I mostly mastered it. No cutlery at all.
and shaving. They were even going to photoshop out the mark on my bottom lip, but I took exception to that.

For lunch today we had ugali. It is made using maize meal (polenta) and is eaten using the hands to form balls. From these ball you then you your thumb to form little cups and scoop up some of whatever you are eating it with. It takes practise, and I ate it quite slowly, but it was still very nice, unlike anything I have had before.

I managed to get hold of some Stoney Ginger Beer (really a soda not a beer) which I first found out about from Uncle Ian on his trip to Kenya. I was very nice, very gingery, but unfortunately even though it uses my nickname, I don't think I could try to claim ownership of the brand, although it would be nice to own my own soft drink. I have also brought some chocolate for the first time in Tanzania. They have Dairy Milk fruit and nut here, although it is a different size and shape. So if I have a hard day, now I will have that in my fridge.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ugali 2Ugali 2
Ugali 2

Eating ugali is a tricky technique but I think I mostly mastered it. No cutlery at all.
BirdBird
Bird

I saw this bird yesterday as I was taking pictures around the cathedral for the website.
CellCell
Cell

This is one of the cells below the hostel, where slaves were kept. People would be piled into this tiny room, which is an absolute pain the photograph, this was my best picture.
CathedralCathedral
Cathedral

This is another view of the Cathedral.


9th December 2005

stoney you gotta show us a picture of your soda!
11th December 2005

Telephone call
We were concerned to hear about your malaria. Hope it can be sorted asap. Not a condition to take casually. Good news - we are now picking up your pictures OK. Will phone regularly when you advise how to purchase a card. Take care, and best wishes to Nuhu. How about a picture of him and the Bishop. Dad PS Have written to St Bedes and received a response from Mr Matthews. He has passed your details to Kate, the school chaplain. St B is also developing contact with a school in Palestine. Should be interesting.
13th April 2010

chefs
I miss ugali boy. It looks yami.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb