Catching up with the paperwork


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 7th 2005
Published: December 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Old and newOld and newOld and new

Here you can see some of the old and new activities of the Church here. In the background there is the old missionary school, which was nationalized in the 60s and then not maintained. In the foreground is the foundations of the new Diocesan headquarters.
Paperwork finally caught up on me yesterday, I need to get a residential permit, so I have begun this process. Fortunately Nuhu (the Diocesan secretary) knows someone who works in immigration, so he got him to bring the forms over and worked out what I will need. I will get a residential permit, as this will allow me to open a bank account as well as remain in Tanzania for the entirety of my stay. It does however, cost 100 dollars.

I continued with work on the website. I will get to go and photograph the first bunch of tourist sites next Tuesday. Mama Jean gave me a book to help me with my English teaching. In addition it looks like I will be a founding member of a new bible study for English speakers. I have also offered to help with the parish youth work. In addition, another volunteer from England will be coming soon, although he is a priest, and will therefore have a very different role from me, but it does mean there will be English speaking services!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Palm treesPalm trees
Palm trees

Just to help you get a feel for my surroundings. This is just down the track from where I am staying
HouseHouse
House

This is where I am staying.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb