Kili time?


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've done the most amazing buy - a camera with film! I thought I was buying a disposable camera for 20000 tsh but it turned out to be a film camera, even better! so I've bought a load of film rolls so i can start retaking a lot of my lost pics. Only problem is that you cant zoom, you have just lean in closer ..

Have also been (almost) convinced into climbing Mt Kilimanjaro.. I'm hesitating because it costs A LOT (see approx 1000 USD!) and i'm not sure if my fitness levels are quite up to it after some months of not really getting any proper exercise. So if i do go for it I'm gonna have to really stop spending money.. which is kinda difficult for me 😊

So tuesday we went out for drinks at East African Hotel (really luxurious, flat screen tvs and AC!) and then to Greek Club which is a sportsbar. Really nice to get out.. Met up with Sophia, the girl I met in Heathrow on the way here, for coffee .. she's here for 2 years so has her own house w running hot water, a shower and she'll be getting her Wii and TV soon .. think I might have to go there just for the shower !

Yesterday we went to L'Oasis Lodge for our weekly dinner out.. the place is really nice (and really expensive).. they make the best Nachos, called Kili Nachos cos they're shaped after Mt kili. We shared 2 plates between 8-9 of us, there were that many! Our usual Thursday night at Via Via didnt happen as we were all really tired.. dunno why tho. Maybe it's the heat. It's been getting hotter and hotter and apparently December is the worst (or best, depending on how u look at it) month. I'm glad im not gonna be here for that.. It's boiling at 9am and 2-3 oclock is the worst time!
The beer here is really good (just thought of that) Kilimanjaro beer is the best!

So my host family are leaving for the weekend.. they're going to see my host brother at his school. They asked me if i wanted to come but def didnt want to when i heard it is a 6 hour car drive away! they leave today and come back sometime sunday so I have Laura staying over tonight and Alice staying over tmr night. My host mum insisted I find someone to stay with me and i think both Alice and Laura are glad to save money on taxis home from town. Tonight we were gonna go to the Big Bite restaurant which is supposed to be the best Indian restaurant in all of East Africa. With my new money probs i think i'm gonna pass on that, maybe some other time.. tmr we are gonna go to the cinema to watch G.I Joe and maybe go out to La Fiesta afterwards. But plans always change so have no idea what we'll actually end up doing.
I'm really glad to have the house to myself.. getting a bit frustrated w my host family. They go through my stuff a lot, i think.. also i'm pretty sure that my host sister has been using my makeup as my eyeliner was freshly sharpened when i got home from work yesterday. and i def didnt sharpen it! But oh well as long as they're not stealing anything I guess it's ok, just annoying.

I'm also relieved not having to bear another night of my host mum watching the crap spanish, dubbed into english tv dramas. It's the worst acting ever! and the english voices are so fake..
Also they little MTV they show is the same again and agian. I've watched the same episode of Pimp my Ride 3 times now. BUT i'm not complaining, at least there is a tv!

Oh and the funniest thing this morning. I woke up to find some guy cutting our little lawny bit outide.. with scissors! think he's gonna be stuck out there all day if he intends to use those small scissors on all the grass.. weird.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb