Zanzibar and Mt Kilimanjaro!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
September 27th 2009
Published: September 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So Alice and I go to Zanzibar on Wednesday!! and we start climbing Kili in a week and 3 days. Shit.
Can't wait.

In the next three days I'll be living by the ATMs as we both have to pay for Kili (1000 USD) and get money out to last us in Zanzibar as apparently VISA sucks there and you cant get any money out. Which is really weird since it's a tourist haven. The ATM of course has a daily limit and often they dont work so I'm gonna take as much out as poss today, tmr and tuesday. I have to get out 1,300,000 tsh to pay for Kili and the highest tanzanian note is 10,000. It's gonna be like robbing the bank! Just getting out 100,000 gets you a huge wad of money.

Tuesday Alice and I go into SOK (the organisation we're climbing kili with) to pay as we'll be in Zanzibar right up until the day before we start climbing. We also need to arrange to rent all the equipment. Climbing Kili gets you through both rain forest, desert and lots of snow so a lot of equipment is needed! It's only Alice, Daniel and I in our group and we'll have 9 porters and a guide!

Our flight to zanzibar leaves at 10.30 AM from kili airport so we have to get up really early as it takes approx and hour to get there from Arusha. We've already booked a hostel in Stone Town for the first two nights but will change to a hostel on the East cost prob for the rest of the time. We leave again on the Tuesday. Will stay the night in Arusha and then go back to Kili Wednesday to start our climb 😊
Phew.. I'm really looking forward to it. it's gonna be crazy but great.
I'm also glad i'm climbing it with Alice and Daniel, they're really great so i can actually stand being around them constantly for 6 days (and alice for 2 weeks ).

So I'm now running on super saving mode as all this travelling and climbing freaking mountains is expensive! I've booked my flight to Cape Town (leaving 3 Nov, getting there 4 Nov) and my hostel there so all of that is sorted. relief!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb