My First few days in Africa


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,

Its been an interesting time here in africa ... interesting would be the correct word!

Life here is so different then what i am used to ... It gives you a new prospective about life and how easy we have it back home. The people here are extremely nice they wont let me go alone anywhere which is a good thing consider i have already been robbed twice in my two days here! When i walk around everyone keeps staring at me ... some more then others. The guys keep trying to talk to me even with their l imited english. I made a friend here name David he is a really bright guy. he is 20 years old and wants to become and engeenier. We go on walks every day and all of them keeps staring at him and me as if we are together or something ... i find it so funny. he tells me its because they are jealous of me and maybe even him because he gets to walk with me and talk to me. its a weird feeling when someone tells you that because well hey in America we are all accepted and we are so diverse.

Anywyas i have my own room ... well its really small but at least for now im alone in it. it kind makes me feel guilty having it all to myself because the children really share together ... there are 6 kids to a room at times and now we have more people coming because its a break from school which means there will be MANY more and they will have to sleep outside! thank god its not really cold here but if they sleep outside it means more chance to get bitten and get malaria. Its been really hot here but i am trying to get used to it. The cleaning situation here is horrible there are animals walking around here ... i even see huge cockroachs and there is not much you can do about it! one of them even went inside my luaggage today and im too scared to open it up! my mother told me to stop being a baby because its smaller then me and i have to fix my bags then! well she is not here to see how big they are! i mean like 10 times bigger then the american kinds!!!

The food ... i dont eat much. its so not clean and yesterday i was eating a little out of respect and i got to swollow a big piece of hair! i couldnt spit it out because i didnt want to be rude ... this is freaking me out when it comes to this ... i am used to having it so nice and clean and ahhh i guess something to get used to ... i am just glad my mother made me bring bunch of food but that will run out as well though i am trying to divide it so it wont run out fast ...

Yesterday ii had the pleasure of having my first African shower. Let me tell you wow you dont know what you have till you lose it. I wanted to wash my hair but wasnt mentaly ready to do it quite yet. You have to take cold water and pour it on yourself then soap up and then pour a lot more water on your body that are freaking cold ... its just so weird ... today i am going to attempt to wash my hair but i am scared the soap wont come out ... at least not all of it.

I cant wait till Emily will join me in a few days though im not going to lie i am scared for us! we will be two "white girls" which means an easy target. I mean i got robbed while walking with a local can you imagine how many times they will try to get us when its just us! and the local lady Joanne she taught me how to look around and start notice people that are following us. its funny i used to do it in israel when it came to terrorist acts ... where they can come in from ... where they can blow up and so on but here its where they wont steal something from me. even when i got the local area there were this two kids following me and i finally noticed it so i grabbed my bag really quickly so yeah they wont just run with it! I hate that feeling having to watch my back at all time.

On a positive note ... i brought the kids some strings and they loved it they started making unklets? and bracellets and so on ... they seem so thankful so that was neat ... i also went to the city (yes where i was robbed) and i bought them a soccer ball becaus there are so many kids here and with nothing to do. school is going to be out for the next week or two and they just clean all the time or play with sticks so at least the soccer ball will get them something to do ...

Okay well i should probably go i feel bad using the orphange interent for too long but i will try to catch up more often and even more so to add pictures which i havent taken any as of yet ...

I miss you all and hope all is well!

Liron

Phone number here is (255) 786-856-843


Advertisement



13th June 2009

I LOVE YOU!!! Just wanted to say it again. Sounds like you're having an interesting time. I'm praying for you.
14th June 2009

very proud
liron i am very proud of you.miss you love you.keep writing. ema
14th June 2009

Wowaweewa
Girl! I am so proud of you! This trip seems like an eye opener already. I hate cockroaches!!! They have those huge ones in Costa Rica too and i was so scared to see one, luckily i didnt, nor did i have one crawl into my luggage....eeeeeeeeew. You are gonna come back anorexic at this rate! Anorexic and dirty! Good luck with that! Miss you! xoxo
1st July 2009

wow
Hey lironi, I miss you!! i've been thinking about you the past few days and went on your facebook, until i remembered you have a travel log..it's crazy how different it is there. I can't believe you already got robbed twice in your first 2 days..and about the kockroaches...I totally undestand how you couldn't open your suitcase..I don't think i'd ever be able to go there..lol Anyhow, I hope all is well with you. I can't wait til you come back and we can hang out!! love you, take good good care of yourself. Big Hugs and Kisses, Katrin

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb