Finally arrived, with luggage and all!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
February 9th 2005
Published: February 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

I have finally arrived after only 5 days of traveling and is it ever hot here! I don't have a/c at my place so am quite hot, even with the fan on. Apart from the heat, it's been quite an adventure so far. Due to freezing rain, my plane from Calgary was delayed, thus causing me to miss all my connections to Dar. So, I was delayed by two days in Toronto - thank you again so much to my family, the Palis', for taking such great care of me!

I was taken to the office on the afternoon of my first day here and met all the staff. I am now currently reading some information brochures on my organization and trying to figure out my responsibilities. I'm not sure what to expect regarding my work but I only hope that I can be useful to the organization. The office is a short walk from my home and is very modern. I have a nicer computer than back home and thankfully, the offices here are a/c - quite chilly in here actually!

So, that's my first day and a bit in Dar es Salaam in a nutshell. I am very tired right now, due to being awakened at 4am by the barking/howling dogs (have yet to see them in the flesh though). I don't think I'm going to get used to the roosters either but I am hoping to get more in touch with cuter African wildlife (i.e. giraffes and flamingos). Alas, until a safari, I will make do with the crows (exactly the same as in Canada) and those crazy invisible dogs...

I am missing home like crazy but am enjoying meeting all the new people - everyone is very friendly here.

Bye for now! I hope you are all doing well. Take Care!

btw, I can't seem to access my hotmail so please email me at: msmelissarico@yahoo.com

Advertisement



9th February 2005

hello
hey!!! i'm glad you made it there in one piece. of course, plus all the pieces of luggage you had...dare i ask how many? heheh. anyway, keep us posted about what it's like over there :) - emilie
9th February 2005

Hey there! Sabeen and I miss you lots too. I'm glad to know that you are slowly settling in. And while you are complaining about the hot temperatures, think of us in -15 degrees weather and lots of snow. I think you have the better of the two worlds! - Josie
12th February 2005

Ai it's cold in my office too
Hey Melissa! Africa, eh? Adventurous! My office is cold because there's no heating in it! wa! My apt too oh well! Summer's coming! Happy Chinese New Year! Hope you have a great time...Rob - Rob

Tot: 0.461s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2136s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb