One Week Officially...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
February 15th 2005
Published: April 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi again,

It's been a week since I've arrived and time has both flown by and gone really really slowly. I have adjusted more to the heat so do not sweat as profusely as I did in the first few days. I actually find it a little cool in the mornings and in the evenings! It also helps that I take about 3 showers a day!

As for life here, I have had my little ups and downs. I have met many people here, both expats and locals, and all are extremely friendly and kind. Everyone has gone out of their way to show me around and take care of me - I must seem very clueless and/or helpless!

The food here is very varied both in price and type - have had local food (samaki na wali) for very cheap but have also had expat food for about the same prices as back home. The juice here is amazing!!! I have fallen in love with passion fruit juice and have actually developed a taste for papaya. However, I have had some moments when I really want to become vege - walking by the "butcher" and forgetting to mention that I don't want the fish head... pointy little teeth and beady eyes...

I ventured into the city centre for the first time on the weekend with another Canadian girl I accosted (she was wearing MEC so I stopped her in the street). We took a dalla dalla (local bus) down, which was an adventure in itself. Once in the city centre, I found it quite chaotic and confusing. Seeing how I have a bad sense of direction, I will be asking her to accompany me again on future visits.

Other than that, will just share a few amusing observations I have experienced thus far:

1. The Dogs - must they bark at 4 am every morning?
2. The Chickens - running around everywhere... and you know that they are someone's next meal
3. The Burning Piles of Garbage - this = garbage disposal/recycling
4. The Constant Honking - everyone tries to get you to take their dalla or their taxi, even if it requires you to somehow jump across the road without getting run over by the constant traffic (I'm not wonderwoman you know)
5. Mchina - as always, everyone thinks I'm Chinese!
6. The Rice (wali) - how on earth do they make the rice greasy here? It's not fried rice...
7. The Music - changes from cheesy 80s love songs to hip hop to Celine Dion to BackStreet... very interesting
8. Playing Chicken - crossing the street is a big feat for me... and an amusement for the locals watching my attempts

That's all for now. Going to head to the beach this weekend so I am quite excited to experience the white sands... and get a nice tan too!


I hope you are all doing well, wherever you may be. Take Care and Happy Belated Valentine's Day!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb