Stellenbosch to Earthdance


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
September 23rd 2015
Published: November 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Despite no flowers my spirits were high(after the wine mostly) as I was about to attend a festival! Cool!!! It was actually a trance party, as I learned, which only lasts Saturday and half of Sunday. I learned this Sunday afternoon when the people I was hanging out with mentioned it would be over in two hours. UNACCEPTABLE! I went and found the head of security and asked him if I could stay Sunday night as I didn’t plan on being there for just one night. I mean come on…what kind of festival is only one night…and what kind of festival wants people to party all Sunday and leave by 4?!?! Weird…but the head dude, Lee, was kind enough to let me stay. Yay! It was a fun party and I got to meet some great people. Seems like a real tight knit community. I like that cuz its not just one location that has great people, they are all around the world. Off to Stellenbosch to see what I can see.











There are three major cities in the wine region; Paarl, Franchoek, and Stellenbosch. Stellenbosch is the biggest of these and home to Stellenbosch University and about 50,000 student. Fuuuuuuuuun J I met two guys at the hostel I was staying at and we had a great time allllll week. I parked the car for the majority of the time except the time I went to become a famous actor. Two brothers were in a TV series called Kings and Profits. It was a historical show about ancient times in the bible pretty much. These two guys were background actors and I went along to see if I could be part of the action. At first the production peeps said no, but then I said I could be the third brother no worries. It was cool but I needed to fetch his payment number. Long story short even though they said I was the best Israelite they’ve seen, I couldn’t join the fun…sadface…But I had a blast hanging with these student aged cats seeing the sights and experiencing the student nightlife too! Went to a place called Mystics the night before Heritage day, a national holiday where people celebrate their heritage…mostly with a braai. Dancing my dreadlocks away I got a tap on my shoulder. “Are you the American?” was all I heard…oh boy…whats this all about…”Ive been there a few times, but who’s asking?” I replied. I turned around to see none other than Lee! Woa!! Small world!!!! Yay! Hes such a good guy he invited me to the next trance party (The Village The Gathering). It was the next weekend after I was supposed to be gone so I said id only be able to go if I could volunteer or something. He said perfect and I signed up for more fun!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb