Festival Season


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
October 1st 2015
Published: November 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

There was a festival I did know about before coming over to SA called Rocking the Daisies and had plans on running into a coworker from the Wurst. Andrea Fenno came over to do a bunch of volunteer work as well as hitting up that festie. I needed a ticket so I jumped on the web and saw an ad posted for a ticket cheaper than ive seen before AND in Stellenbosch to boot! I went to meet the guy and we had a beer. He said we should go hang out later with his friends and when he arrived to pick me up out walks another guy I had already met before!!! SMALL WORLD!!!! The festival was amazing and I met a total of 13 people that I actually knew. Way too weird…im not from here!!! Hahaha!!! I got to see loads of good music including The Cat Empire. They are from Australia but I never got to see them when I lived there for a year but I really really wanted to…so goal accomplished this festie!!!! A few other good bands and DJs were around, but the people was the part I liked. Again I stayed an extra night again but this time I got to help take down some tents before getting a ride to the site for The Village.







Holy guacamole….this place is waaaaaaaaaaaaay too ridiculous….Its like an Italian villa set on a farm (with cows and donkeys, including one that was born while I was there, and fruit and wine). This place was a 5 star awesome time with really great people. Will is the man of the farm and he was more than accommodating for some foreign stranger. Man these people are cool. I really had a good time all week setting up this trance party. Getting to see the location as nothing turned into a giant trance party all produced with these helping hands was such an amazing experience I can’t say thank you enough. So grateful…and the fun continued. Lee’s brother Carl is the owner of the tent company and he invited me to do it all again the next week for the next trance party called Gaian Dream. All the people at Earthdance asked me if I was attending that party but I said no cuz it wasn’t in the plans at the time. Now here I am setting up the place. Hahahaha. Carl let me stay at his place with his long term girlfriend and two kids. What a treat. I cant believe these people open up their homes with such welcoming arms. Really digging this vibe. The hits keep coming as we went clay pigeon shooting on a saturday. I haven’t fired a gun in a decade but it was so like riding a bike. Crushed it. Really made me miss my dad and the fun hunting times we always had. The last round of three a lady came through and really only missed a few shots. This reminded me of my mom shooting clays and the trophy she modified to be a lady (instead of a guy) when her team won some contest! The next day Jake(a manager for the tent company), his girlfriend, and I went for a Sunday funday to the event. What a blast it was and the next week I spent working around Cape Town setting up tents for private functions and permanent structures. I even got to bartend a market that Carl’s gf Heather puts together! So in my element! Carl has the benefit of working with his mother and what a lovely lady she is. Idk…I had such a good time running around working and living the Capetonian life I really didn’t want to leave…but all things must come to an end I suppose and I had to leave to stick to my travel plans to hit the next bullet point. That would be taking a 24 hour bus to Windhoek, Namibia for Oktoberfest! Hahaha that’s right another festival!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb