Wine Region


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
September 21st 2015
Published: October 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Citrusdal and down! Man after deciding chasing flowers that aren’t around is a silly idea I found a breath of fresh air chasing the vineyard closing times J Paarl was the first stop on the way to glorious wine, cheese, and chocolate tastings to name a few. At the information spot in Paarl I had to figure out where the F i was going...The “cheap” caravan park was ridiculously expensive but the boss of the info spot knew of a vineyard that hosts campers as well(for super cheap). Aaaaand it happened to be on the way past a few vineyards that were recommended. Yay!!! Second stop was the Fairview Winery which is famous for their cheeses. Its really true…the cheese there was aaaawwweesome…..especially the Jersey milk feta without brine. Woa….Also the wine infused with some brandy business with the aged gorgonzola cured the funk of the eats and smoothed out the 18% kick of the drink. Third stop was the Spice Route place where there were sooooo many things to do and sample. Wow for real. Maybe a bit touristy cuz the smaller places had nooooo people and this place was packed but so worth the small tasting fees. CBC is located on these premises and it stands for Cape Brewing Company. The biggest craft brewery in SA and my favorite beer so far! 6 samples later including their Oktoberfest beer (my favorite of them all) I headed to the charcuterie place for a Jared special. Jared learned me on the charcuterie so I honor him in enjoying a 5 sample meat selection to die for. Man that stuff was good. I needed a bit more food in me so I went to the coffee roaster on the same property! 3 samples of different country’s coffee jolted me enough to continue on to the next winery. Windmeul estates or something like that saw a nice conversation with the hostess about beer production that would start soon at their establishment as well as 5 free samples of wine. Hehehe…Lamdsberjger was just past the place I was staying so I grabbed a quick few samples of 5 wines and then off to Reisebesesk for last call of 3 more before heading back to Captain Jack’s home….the Black Pearl Winery 😊 😊 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb