Back to the Garden route....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » George
March 16th 2018
Published: May 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Here we are, the second leg of this amazing golf trip. Once again, if golf is not your thing, this is clearly not for you.



South Africa, I may repeat myself is today golf wise the best country in the world. You have over 500 courses, most of them open their courses warmly to outside visitors. This is also a bargain to play around the country. Around home, I have 7 courses, costing me way below 20usd per green fee on average. The closer you drive to Cape Town, the more the price raise, but this is still pretty reasonable. Imagine, I paid 150usd to pay the Links, ranked by Golf Digest first in South Africa, and 34th in the world if you exclude the US courses.



Over these few days, its was each day one course, and some days even 36 holes. I walked most of them. I play St Francis Bay, St Francis Links, Goose Valley, Plettenberg golf club, Pezula ( including the golf cart), Simola (including a golf cart too), George country club, The Links at Fancourt with a compulsory caddie, Montagu at Fancourt as well as Oubaii golf club. That's a total of 10 courses in 6 days. I would have also play Kingswood in George, but that was the morning when the rain would not stop. One rainy morning in 3 weeks, I'm not the one to complain!



Over these few days, we stay at the Protea Port Elizabeth, than the St Francis lodge at the Links, Protea Knysna and the two Protea hotels in George. Protea hotels in South Africa are not the best, but as they are part of Marriott, I do receive from time to time some solid upgrades!



I have also to thank my dear caddy Tanya. She didn't join me on each courses, but was there on some serious ones!



At Goose Valley, in Plettenberg, a truly fun moment. I play the club Wednesday competition. We finished the round and I put my golf bag in the car. On the car park, I spotted these two senior gentlemen in a golf buggy. One look like...Gary Player. The driver, stopped and made a hello sign to mefrom his head. I returned the greeting While driving away, I saw his golf back, with the name Gary Player on it! What a gentleman! If you have never heard of the name, this is one of the 4 legend players in the world! I got the confirmation at the bar that it was indeed him. What a gentleman!



Few days later, another fun moment. What about getting upgraded on a golf course? You are going to ask how is this possible? I play the Links at Fancourt over 12 years ago! Then, and today, to play the course, you have to stay at the hotel. Today green fee is 200usd, but a night at Fancourt will cost you minimum 400usd. Trust me, it doesn't worth this at all! I was booked this time to play the two other courses. The Montagu, ranked 8th in South Africa, and in the afternoon, the Outeniqua, ranked 14th. Here, when you book, you pay your green fee in advance...sorry for you if it is a rainy day!



I was booked and paid for a Saturday, This is the busy day on golf courses all over the country! Three weeks ahead of my rounds, I received an email from Fancourt. We apologize but we have a competition booked on Montagu in the morning, therefore we have moved you to the Links at no extra charge at 7.30am. Bingo, that is a solid upgrade. Montagu being better ranked than Outeniqua, I play Montagu in the afternoon. Outeniqua will have to wait my next visit to George! And guess, the architect/designer of the Links? Yes, Gary Player!



My day at Pezula was another special one. Because the morning had been rainy, most people had cancelled their bookings. I had the course for myself and shot a pretty solid 82....what a moment...playing around the rain, but staying mainly dry!



In Plettenberg golf club, on the 18th, baboons decided to steal my golf ball, that just meters away of the green. There were people on the terrace to witness it. Fun experience, and it seems it does happen pretty often.



Next, we are moving to Mossel Bay, to a very special course! wine coming soon too!


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb