More Impala


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 4
Up at the crack of dawn - and it was worth it ……… within 5 mins going down the road, I saw a family of hyena’s presumably going home after a night’s hunting ……… then headed off the beaten track and had a ‘real’ encounter with a big bull elephant who told me in no uncertain terms that I had got too close!!!!! I have also been near a couple of other herds later in the morning and whilst I didn’t get to touch, it was a far more satisfying experience than yesterday. Seen a load of other stuff and am just about to have lunch in what has to be a challenger for the restaurant with the best view, as well as the panorama, there’s families of elephant and hippo. For once I hope the service is very slow!!!!! ……. It fortunately was - and then back to my next camp (a tent this time) - see previous about cold, plus add being near a ‘laughing’ hyena pack …. And they must have been laughing at us all night, sleeping in tents on a freezing cold night without any fur - I don’t remember ever going to bed with a woolly hat on before!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Lion's Big MacLion's Big Mac
Lion's Big Mac

It even has the printed big M on its rump
FishingFishing
Fishing

I drove past and reversed to have the light behind me and it still never moved
Two huntersTwo hunters
Two hunters

with two very different strategies
x elephant blowing3 smlx elephant blowing3 sml
x elephant blowing3 sml

She didn't like that trunk full


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb