DOWN AND OUT


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
June 26th 2010
Published: June 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Went off to the Cradle of Human Kind today. This is a world heritage site and contains the Sterkfontein Caves, which we visited. A 2.3 million year old fossil, Mrs Ples, was found here in 1947. Other fossils over 3 million years old have also been found.
What I didn't bargain for was the fact that I would be on my hands, knees and bum getting through some of the narrow and low gaps in order to complete the tour. Oh my lord, what was going on. I was frightened to touch the walls, for support, in case I touched a bat!!!!!
It was very interesting but I was glad to get out in the daylight again.
We had lunch around the lake at Centurion. As I have previously said, to eat out is very cheap here. Today we had a chicken wrap and salad, big enough for two people, 4 bottles of Carling Black Lable, half litre of Sangria and a strawberry daiquiri. Complete with tip £17.00. Sussed out that the prices can be kept cheap when the waiting staff are not paid a salary and rely solely on tips for an income.
We have worked out that if England reach the final tomorrow we are then scheduled to play in Cape Town which means we will have to cut our safari at Kruger short. Not happy. I should have sent our plans to Capello maybe he could have kept our Team on track. oh well that's it for today. More from the match tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb