SocialSeychelles.ning.com hosting debacle


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
June 7th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

An email from my meditation buddy alerts to me a major issue for socialseychelles.ning.com as Ning, the company that hosts my site (and about a million others) has decided to pull its free networks and charge instead. As I don’t work nor earn any money from Social Seychelles, this is news I could do without. Unbelievably, the same day I find this out, Social Seychelles goes down and tweets from Twitter suggest that I’m not alone; even the Ning creators network is affected. Rumours abound; have they pulled the rug from underneath already? I sit glued to the internet and start to examine other social network alternatives but the honest truth is I don’t really want to change from Ning with the hassle involved but neither do I want to be out of pocket and on principle I want to tell Ning to get off my land. I’m torn. Pigs in space.

Socialseychelles does eventually come back, not that I’m sure anyone noticed it had ever gone…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb