its Friday! Pray for sunshine!


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria » Lagos
May 19th 2013
Published: May 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Friday was the last day of the Health and Safety week in Lagos, it was also the last day of my Risk Assessment training. The morning started with a quiz and reflection on the week with all 350 employees, there was an amazing atmosphere with lots of energy, laughing, shouting and singing – sadly I had no idea what was going on as they talk too fast and their accent was lost on me. Victor had asked me to photograph the event for the company newsletter.

I had my final Risk Assessment group and they were the quietest this week, I think they just wanted to go as it is a Friday so we managed to get out earlier today as they didnt ask many questions. A couple of them went to mosque in the afternoon so I asked them to pray for sunshine in the UK. Most of them understand the hazards and risks, but they fear telling their supervisors about them in case they are seen as lazy or that they “talk too much” … it shows how big a job Mike and I have on our hands when it comes to changing attitudes.

In the evening Mike and I along with a UK colleague called Denis went to Chocolate Royale for dinner, Chocolate Royale is a café/restaurant a bit like a harvester. We had our driver take us and he sits outside and waits for us. Denis is from Croatia, we discussed how beautiful it is there, he said that one of our mutual colleagues "Carole" had gone there for a holiday this week. He lived in the city and he told us about the war, he explained that he didn’t have any military involvement but he worked with charities taking aid to the injured. He told us that he had seen death and destruction. Having grown up in a happy environment (thankfully) I just can’t imagine anything like this, over a lifetime your eyes take billions of photographs, I looked at his eyes and wondered what they had seen.

I have spent most of the weekend studying towards my NEBOSH Unit B, I have just had breakfast and read a chapter of Caitlan Morans book “how to be a woman” I got it for Christmas and have only just really found the time to read it – it is excellent, hugely recommended and then I am off to the pool and the gym and I might investigate if the thai woman that does the massage is still in the cupboard J (see my last Nigeria blog)

Tomorrow I am doing my First aid training which I am very excited about

Take care

Lisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb