OH MY GOD GUESS WHAT I JUST DID?!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Swakopmund
August 12th 2006
Published: August 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all, I am just writing to let you know I am still alive after I did a SKYDIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! I never, ever thought I was brave enough to do one. After two days of leaping 50 feet off the top of a boat into a lake in Zambia, I was after something slightly more scary - though there were crocodiles in the lake which gave things an interesting twist. I announced to the entire truck I was going to do a skydive in Swakopmund over the sand dunes, just so everyone knew which meant I couldn't back out or I'd be seriously uncool. What I hadn't banked on was doing one AN HOUR after we arrived in Swakopmund because they had space that afternoon. As soon as they said that, my legs went hollow and I was convinced I would be the only person to blemish their 100% safety record and I had one hour left to live. As soon as I donned my bright red, orange and yellow jumpsuit (beautiful) I got the hysterical giggles and had to pee three times in 10 minutes. I paid for a camera man to jump out with me for photographic evidence that I threw myself out of a plane at 10,000 feet just for fun (and was in free fall for 5,000 feet). Everything I was told went out the window (no pun intended) and I did everything wrong - the entire bar laughed when my video was played because you're meant to keep your legs closed and tucked up so you're almost kicking the instructor's bum - mine were flailing all over the place and at one point the instructor tried to shut my legs by squashing them with his legs and that didn't work so the poor man gave up and let Betty-Spaghetti keep on flailing. My eyes were shut and my mouth was open screaming at the top of my voice before I had even fallen out of the plane. Not a pretty sight... but I'M ALIVE! Just call me 'head.... meat head'.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb