Mozambique on short notice Day 2.


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern
March 29th 2012
Published: April 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mosambiek GrensMosambiek GrensMosambiek Grens

Geen probleme nie. Ek het twee moontlike verklarings. Of dinge het verander in Mosambiek, of motorfietse verander mense.
Day 2

We left early the morning with a couple of raindrops. This time we decided not do make the same mistake again and had our full rain gear on. This was not problem in the beginning, but we were pushed for time because we had to meet a friend (Dankie Gert ou maat) at the Mozambique border at 15:00. Because motorbike clothing takes some time to put on or take off, we kind of overheated before reaching the border post.

Gert sent an SMS that the sand was very loose in certain places and this scred me even more. We have not had any real deep sand experience before.

All well and we were at the Kosi Bay border post in time. The border crossing were the best I have ever experienced into Mozambique and all went without a problem. Gert met us as promised and now the "fun" started.

Tyres deflated to 1.2 and excited to the brim. I put my luggage in Gerts bakkie, but Tommie was braver than me and kept his bike fully loaded.

Tommie had the first fall and gave me the confidence that I
Ontoelaatbare fotoOntoelaatbare fotoOntoelaatbare foto

Gert is oor die vingers getik oor die fototjie. Dit kan glo tot moord van die amptenaar ly.
was understanding this sand driving thing. This feeling was short lived and I fell twice and got stuck once. If it was not for Gert, I do not know how we would have gotten to Ponta Do Ouro. By the time we reached Ponta we were finished. So much physical exersise we have not had in years. What a GREAT feeling!

Gert treated us to many things, starting with a swim in the see, and ending with a braai, but what happened between these activities was the most impressive part. We were taken to Fernando's Bar where we had R&R's. For those who don't know this yet, it is Rum with a bit of rassberry. Tommie ordered a second round for us, with the expected results........

We went to bed in a very good mood.


PS.
Cappucinos at Upstairs Resturant & Bar in Ponta Do Ouro is the best. They have wireless for free, a fantastic balcony with a view and friendly good looking service.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Eerste sand ry lesEerste sand ry les
Eerste sand ry les

Tommie het net twee keer op die hele trip geval, en ek het later ophou tel hoeveel keer ek geval het. Dus noem ek hierdie foto 'n les. Hy het ten minste iets geleer.
My eerste valMy eerste val
My eerste val

Dit was die begin van baie valle. ai tog :-(
Sand en dan nog bulte.Sand en dan nog bulte.
Sand en dan nog bulte.

Lekkerrrrrrr. Maar glo my, te veel van 'n ding is ook nie meer pret nie.
Dis die waarheid.Dis die waarheid.
Dis die waarheid.

Deep Sand!!! veral vir 'n groot motorfiets.
Die sand ry is pretDie sand ry is pret
Die sand ry is pret

Op die stadium geniet ek dit nog baie, maar later was dit 'n ander storie
Kom ons dink 'n bietjie.Kom ons dink 'n bietjie.
Kom ons dink 'n bietjie.

Ons het 'n verskoning nodig gehad om bietjie te rus.
Ek het dit gemaakEk het dit gemaak
Ek het dit gemaak

Lanklaas in my lewe was ek so moeg en het ek iets so baie geniet.
Ons ondersteunings spanOns ondersteunings span
Ons ondersteunings span

Dankie tog vir Gert en Ruben. Sonder hulle sou ons die eerste dag in Mosambiek al op moedverloor se vlakte gesit het. Beter vriende kon ons nie voor gewens het nie.
R&R'sR&R's
R&R's

Moenie dink R&R's lyk oral in Mosambiek so nie. Hierdie is 'n spesiale Fernando's ding.
Na twee R&R'sNa twee R&R's
Na twee R&R's

Tommie, dis alles jou skuld dat ons mekaar moet vashou op die foto. :-)


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb