World Scout Moot


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
August 4th 2010
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

During my last couple of days in Mombasa, I spent a lot of time saying goodbye! I visited Bomu again, and gave gifts to the staff I worked with to say thank you. As a leaving present my hosts took me to have my arms painted with henna, which was really cool. I helped out at another medical camp, and was wished well by all the people I had spent time with on these trips. On my last night, I went out with my volunteer friends, and partied to say farewell.

I then travelled on to Nairobi, to meet the rest of the UK contingent for the 13th World Scout Moot. We had an action-packed two days in the city, visiting a centre of traditional tribal houses, seeing a performance of tribal dances and acrobatics, going to an elephant orphanage, visiting the Karen Blixen Museum, visiting a bead and pottery factory and going to a giraffe centre. We also had two meals out, dining at an Italian restaurant one night and a place called Carnivore the other. As the name suggests, Carnivore was a meat-eater's heaven, and there were a lot of very full people at the end!

On 27th July, we headed to Rowallan National Scout Campsite for the World Scout Moot. All participants were paired up with someone from their country, and then placed in a crew of 10 from around the world. These crews cook, eat and do activities together, making it a truly interntional experience. Four days were spent at different "expedition centres" around 3 hours from Nairobi, doing things like hiking, community service and sports. I particularly enjoyed visiting a primary school and teaching the children songs, dances and games. All participants then returned to Rowallan, and I have visited a honey factory, carved a wooden spoon, taken part in a football tournament, participated in a race and had a lot of fun spending time with our international friends.

There is an internet bus onsite, and we are limited with time, so I will write some more at another point!

Advertisement



5th August 2010

Amazing!!!
Great to read your blog!! your trip sounds amazing, enjoy your last few weeks. See you soon The Skeltons
6th August 2010

thank you
Hi Heather, I have really been enjoying reading your blog - thank you for keeping us informed! How will you get your feet back to earth when you return? Esther -x-

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb