Chica has Landed


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jambo (Hello in Swahili),

I have now been in Kisumu some 36 hours. I have settled wonderfully into the Imperial Hotel as the guests of the Gilani Family. Munira, my most generous host and new friend, views the hotel as an extension of her home and indeed the hospitality here is warm and inviting. The hotel staff have been expecting me and have welcomed me with open arms. I was met at the Kisumu airport yesterday by Munira and over 100 school children on a field trip. No she claims not to have arranged that (see photo) It brought tears to my eyes. I also spotted the Ground Flight Safety Buidling -- took a picture for Dave.

I also spied my first grass roofed hut as we circled the edge of Lake Victoria (largest fresh water lake in the world) to land. I was very lucky to make the flight from Nairobi to Kisumu. We arrived an hour late from London. Thank heavens I had procured my Kenyan VISA in Canada..otherwise no chance! After grabbing my bags, I dashed across to the domestic terminal, with 30 minutes to spare, got the bags checked and was talked into checking both bags -- mistake! As when I arrived in Kisumu -- no bags! Another lesson -- always watch to see that bags get on puddle jumper plane.Now the lululemon is comfortable...but not made for the African sun. The next flight was 6:30 pm..so fingers crossed we arranged for the bags to be delivered.

AFter doing some business at the Fish Plant (Gilani Family business along with the Imperial Hotel, Mayfair Bakery and various realestate holdings), I was shown to my new home...a lovely hotel room with full bath and mosquito net. I washed my face and joined Munira for a late breakfast -- poached eggs on toast -- hit the spot.
The afternoon began exploring, having a wee nap and then joining Munira & Hanif (Munira's son) for lunch at the Gilani home -- some 3 blocks from the hotel. This is the main meal of the day and was exquiste indian cuisine. The evening finished out with dinner at the hotel with friends and adopted family of the Gilani's from Bangladesh, Kenya and the UK. We met for drinks on the 5th floor of the hotel -- enjoyed some piano playing by a visiting church group from Greece, and then retired to the dining room for a feast of chinese food. By 11 pm I was very much ready for bed -- and still no bags. So armed with a t-shirt provided by Munira, I snuggled into bed under the Mosquito net --which hangs from a frame above my bed. I may never sleep again without it. It is like being in a cocoon -- also quite romantic!

Today began with a phone call from Hanif at 9 am -- he was picking me up in an hour to see if we could locate my bags. We pulled into the airport and yeah they were there -- sigh of relief! We dropped them off, I did a quick change -- couldn't wait to get out of the lululemon -- and then we were off to FACES -- Family Aids Clinic Educational Services == funded by the US Goverment. Hanif has been volunteering at an orphanage and one of the boys was needing some medical help. So some 26 hours after landing in Kenya, I found myself face to face with HIV/Aids. Friday is Mother's and Children day for treatment. Hanif and I spent 6 hours with Josephat (see picture) -- a very sick little boy who is HIV positive and suspected also to have TB. Josephat is 9 years old -- we think, as there are no records. He is living at an orphanage. Both of his parents have passed away and his grandmother is elderly and no longer able to take care of him. So he was dropped at the orphanage where there are 32 other children. So I spent my first full day in Kisumu helping a little boy out and trying to bring a smile to faces of sick mother's and their children by offering some sweets (we had picked up some fruit drops before going to the clinic) -- almost seemed trite..yet they were so appreciative.

Josephat has left a huge mark on me. He is a quiet but alert boy. He is starting to learn english and I must start to learn Swahili. He loved playing a game on my blackberry. So after 6 hours, we were successful in registering Josephat in a treatment program -- we also learned that he had a perforated ear drum and an upper respiratory infection. So now armed with antibiotics, deworming medicine and ear drops -- hopefully Josephat will be filling a little better in 2 weeks -- his next visit. At that time the workers will also begin to teach Josephat how to take his own medicine and learn more about HIV/Aids. Their goal is to have these HIV positive children by age 10 taking care of themselves!!!! WE dropped Josephat off at the Orphanage/primary school -- and I was surrounded by some 60 children (32 who stay full time at the orphanage). I was very popular as you can imagine with a bag full of candy. I plan to spend more time at the orphanage over the next few weeks. So it has been quite the day and extremely productive. Already plans are being made for me to visit local villages with health care professionals, to volunteer at the FACES clinic and orphanage, to work with some local village women on a fishing project and to attend an NGO governance conference Sept 27 to 29th. As far as how am I feeling -- I'm actually quite numb -- thinking that I spent most of the day in a HIV/Aids clinic. There is a grief and a sadness that I can't explain watching these mothers, children and orphans. Also tremendous respect and admiration for the health workers -and doctors - who for the most part are local. The tenderness and care they demonstrated towards Josephat really touched me. So I am in it gang. I am now off to my cocoon and will no doubt dream about Josephat. Take Care, Jan

Advertisement



16th July 2006

Birthday Greetings
Hi Jan, Thanks so much for all the communication. So relieved that you made it to Kenya safely and now have your bags. I want to thank you very much for the beautiful gifts for Gracie. We celebrated her 2nd b-day yesterday. With being a Friday, Cal was able to take the children swimming. Val and Murf met us for supper at the noodle house and came back for cake. The dress is absoultely beautiful and of course she loves the basket. It is perfect and I think she will wear it for Dererks upcoming wedding. Grace will have a couple of other b-day celebrations once Mom and Dad return. Thank you for your 36 hour update. How reality hits home. Now is is not just on the "NEWS." Thanks for being so detailed. I can really feel the emotion in your words. I look forward to hearing about Josephat's journey. The kids are here with me and send hugs and kisses. Love Jill oxoxo
16th July 2006

The gift of laughter
Hi Jan, I knew it wouldn't take you long to get into the swing of things. As I read your note I was reminded of how the sound of your laughter always brought smiles to the faces of everyone around you. Even though you can't speak the language (yet) I know you are touching those around you with your spirit. You are in my prayers.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.048s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb