Pictures


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nyanza Province » Kisumu
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello All..it seems the pictures did not come through. So I will try again. I am being treated like one of the Gilani Family attending parties and dinners with Munira and Hanif. Their circle of friends and family are so warm and hospitable. I am still battling jet lag...have now taken Judith's advice not to nap in the afternoon..despite overwhelming need too!. Munira treated me to a massage yesterday...does wonders for jet lag. Was also reminded how conservative we North Americans are about body treatments. I started to venture outside on my own yesterday..first walking the 5 blocks home from the Gilani home and then this morning going for a brisk walk. It is interesting being pretty much the only white girl on the street. And yes the streets are safe here around the hotel-- that is for you Mom! I also tried the local breakfast cuisine today -- potato curry and a flat onion bread....yummy but a little heavy! I am becoming a tea drinker.....love the chai. So as you can see...I am starting to get my feet under me. Starting to make a list of supplies I need -- things like a robe - why didn't I pack one, evening bag -- who knew, clock, tray for toiletries, candles, room snacks ...you know things to make one's room feel at home. Tomorrow I will venture out to the supermarket. This afternoon I am joining the Gilani's at an afternoon party. Will see many people that I met last night -- from all over the world -- Japan, Bosnia, US, UK -- there is a wonderful international community here. Hope all is well at home. Cheers, Jan


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



16th July 2006

You are an amazing woman Jan
Dear Jan: Thank you for your updates. You are one amazing woman, and I truly honoured to know you. You are an inspiration. Be well, hugs, Debra
17th July 2006

Adjusting well to new life
Hi Jan, I am very pleased to read that you are adjusting well (not considering the jet lag) to your new life and that your hosts are such nice people. It makes a big difference to feel welcomed and included by the other expaths. Also good to hear that the area where you live is safe enough that you can go for a brisk walk or to the supermarket on your own. Awaiting the next "blog", my thoughts are with you, take care!! Guylaine
19th July 2006

Cousin Janet, Well...I can't believe it ...your mom and dad told me your going to Kenya...but your really there! I look forward to hearing about your journey. You are an insperation! "Your work is to discover your world and then with all your heart give yourself to it" -Buddha. Namaste. Cousin Cari xo
21st July 2006

WoW!
Hello my " Sistah"- What an amazing journey to date-thank you! thank you! for sharing it with us all. You brought tears to my eyes with your eloquent discription of life where you are and a great chuckle with your need for an evening bag. Only you! Please let us know what you need and where we can send it -anything can be found and dispatched asap. Your hosts sound incredible and I'm so glad that they are looking after you. There is a wonderful quote that I came across..."One' s only regret in life is the failure to act". YOU, my friend-will never have a regret! All is well here-Theresa and Trent continue their motorcycle adventure-unfortunately in the rain. Nurse Betty is doing well and I will see her as we cross the Highwood Pass tomorrow-we will be thinking of you. Am having coffee with Nollind on Tuesday and life as Smelly Mae is good. I loved the pic of you and Sue-Hello Sue! if you see this!! Looking forward to your next entry and should you see Joesephat again-please give him a hug for me. I am sure you will be leaving pieces of your heart throughout your journey. Until next time-stay safe and take good care! With a Hug;Angie You are an incredible lady!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb