My right of passage


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I want to start off by saying that I greatly appreciate everyone's comments. You all are such a blessing to me, and I hope you realize what a blessing you are to everyone around you.

Last week was probably the toughest week yet. The first half I spent battling in the nurse-less clinic. Much has already been written about my feelings there, so I will spare you the details. The second half of the week was spent at a place called Joska. It was there that I felt my first pains of homesickness and complete frustration with the Kenyan people. Both were frustrating feelings, but they reminded me that I'm human, and they helped to break me.

I don't know if Joska means anything in Kiswahili, but, to me, it means transformation. I took my first step to becoming a man...I slaughtered a chicken (kuku in Kiswahili). I know it's a bit vulgar, but every Kenyan man has slaughtered a kuku and usually a goat. I'm keeping my eyes open for the next goat roast. Continuing the theme of transformation...I used to think Joska was a prison (it's actually a boarding school in the middle of nowhere), now I think it is an oasis; Barry, the worship leader at Joska, used to drive me nuts, now I think he's still crazy but he's my boy; God spoke thru common Scriptures in completely new ways. Please allow me to share.

On Friday morning my boy (Barry) asked us to lead a couple of devos in some classes. We naturally complied and figured we'd have some time to prepare. Unfortunately the devos we to begin right then. So while walking to the class I thought that Jeremiah Chp 1 would be appropriate for this age group of kids (middle schoolers). After all, I read that Scripture almost daily throughout my teenage years. I probably hadn't read it since high school, though. So I'm up front reading the call of Jeremiah to these Kenyan youths who grew up in the slums, and I tell them that God has a plan for each of them and it hits me...God has a plan for each of them. And He has a wonderful and majestic plan for each of them. And just the fact that they are in a classroom in Joska and not in the slums sleeping under tarps, begging for food, or sniffing glue is a fantastic miracle and testimony to the power of God. For so long I selfishly read Jeremiah 1 and only applied it to myself. I only thought of the plans God had for me (which I still believe are great). But in that moment God showed me that he has incredible plans for everyone around me. So when I joined up with my teammates I saw 19 other incredible plans. When I saw the Kenyans at the center, I saw some more plans of God. When I walked thru Nairobi, I saw the plan of God in everyone I passed. Needless to say I was blown away. I still am blown away. God took a Scripture which I had read hundreds of times and gave it a new and transformed meaning. I guess it just continues to display how vast the wisdom of God is compared to the knowledge of man and how much more we all have to learn. I'm humbled but also encouraged and excited. I can't wait to see His plan actualized in everyone's life around me.

Advertisement



15th July 2008

continue the work
Good to hear that some things are swinging back to a bit less frustrating. I think that we could all use a bit of Jere. 1 wake up about every day. You are blessed and are a blessing to those in Kenya and to us back home. On another note, I'm going to KC today for two nights and three days. I'm not looking forward to it. It really sucks when you aren't there to bum around with. Hurry home so I can have someone to hang with in KC (very selfish I know). Love you and we say a prayer for you every night. Mike, EJ and Yuri
16th July 2008

You write so eloquantly (sp?). I really enjoyed how you spoke of your transformation. The Bible is amazing in that we can read the same passages time and time again and get a different message. A recent initiative of our church is to read the whole Bible together (there is a schedule and journal that we use to do this). At a group once, we were talking about this when a retired pastor raised his hand to share. He said he was amazed that even though he has read the Bible, cover to cover, over 20 times, he still learns new things (and has much to still learn). Amazing! I am so glad to hear that even in a week of frustrations, God has show you His presence and divine providence in your life and the lives of those around you. Love and prayers!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb