Happy Birthday Yuri!!!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy 1st Birthday Yuri and I'm sorry to be missing the festivities.

The days are beginning to be a bit routine which is not a bad thing. In fact, I think it's a pretty natural transition. Routine doesn't mean boring or uneventful, but it just means I'm becoming very comfortable here. This past week was actually quite eventful. I'll just write here a few of the highlights.

On Tuesday I went to Gertrude's Children's Hospital with Isaac (a social worker at the school) and a 13 year old boy, Elijah. Elijah was going to the hospital for a free operation on his ear drum. I will certainly share the incredible story surrounding Elijah and the surgery and the doctor when I return home because it's too much for this blog. I spent all of Tues and half of Wed at the hospital (I didn't stay overnight) just sitting and talking with Isaac and Elijah. For part of the time I kept thinking that I needed to get back to the center, so I could return to the clinic or make home visits with HIV, but then I realized that the time I spent with Isaac and Elijah was just as valuable. Like everyone else at the center, Isaac is an amazing person with an incredible heart for God and the people of Mathare. I was so enriched by our discussions over the day and a half. I was also able to connect with Elijah. I can only pray that God blessed them through me as much as they blessed me.

On Saturday afternoon a group of us including Elijah and a couple other Kenyans went to City Park. At the park are wild monkeys which will swarm you if you have some bananas or peanuts. We had both and spent a couple hours feeding the monkeys. I ended up with a couple scratches on my arms and some monkey dirt all over my clothes. I guess that the burden I bear for an exotic experience. At one point I had a monkey on both shoulders and one climbing my left arm trying to wrestle the banana from my hand. Great stuff.

Time is certainly starting to fly by here. Before no time I'll be preparing to return to the States and school. Until then I'm trying to take it all in and continue to be receptive to God's leading. Take care ya'll and I really appreciate everyone's comments and support.

Advertisement



6th July 2008

in st. louis
Mike and I are just sitting here with Yuri.....waiting on the women while they sit up for the party in the park. always great to hear from you. was great to visit with you on the phone yesterday. Mike and I will unload their stuff from the van this PM and will head out to Knoxville tomorrow. anxious to get there. sermon this morning was on living simply and not being tied to "stuff"......sounds like our lives right now. Brett...this is Mike now, that was dad. Don't worry about Yuri's party...we'll try and have a good time without you. I know that its been said before, but its really the thought that counts. We read your blogs to Yuri every time you post them, so she got the message. Yuri says she loves you and that you should be safe. They are both going to be walking around by the time you get back. Love you

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb