Incarnations


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while, and I apologize. Reading messages gives me the strange feeling that in spite of what occurs here, life is still going on and is pretty "normal" in the states. It's exciting to hear about the move, alumni weekend, grandparents, and development of the babies.

So this week I have switched out of the clinic and am going on home visits with the HIV/AIDS counseling group. I'm still processing a lot of what I see, but I have really enjoyed going to homes and hearing peoples stories. It's incredibly humbling. One lady we met has a tremor in her right hand and the doctors ordered her to get a brain scan. Naturally, she can not afford the test, so she doesn't know what's wrong and it troubles her greatly. She's only 22. However, when we asked her for her prayer requests she mentioned nothing of her own personal health. Her only concern was that she would have the funds to pay for her child's education. Completely selfless despite having "nothing."

Everyday my hope is invigorated by the Kenyans I work alongside. This weekend we played some of the staff in soccer and basketball. The results were unimportant as the time was all about fellowship. Then over the past couple weeks we have had dinners at different houses. It's good to eat together. Jesus did it so why shouldn't we. When I now think of Christ, he looks like Fred in HIV or Paul in business or Eunace in the clinic or Willis in CHE. They have all shown me what Christ looks like in everyday life. I hope that the same could be said for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb