Ode To Big Henry


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
November 9th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This will be one of a few (hopefully) installments of specific experiences both Meghan and I have had on our journey through Kenya. This first one is what I like to call "Ode to Big Henry,"
When Meghan and I first landed in Kenya, we had to make our final arrangements with Safari company, who also were going to 'transfer" us to the hotel. As we walked into the Planet Safari airport office we were greeted by a 6'2" 250 pound Kenyan by the name of Henry. Our first business with Henry was to discuss the package options and the specifics on the service they provided. The package we chose was a one day excursion through Nairobi and a three day safari in the "bush," plus a transport from the airport to the hotel. Then came the price, which wasn't too bad, somewhat pricey, but acceptable. At this point I reached for my trusty old Visa card as Meghan asked if Visa was acceptable. Without missing a beat Henry replied "No, I think not, you pay cash now."
Now I'm thinking to myself no one in their right mind would be carrying that kind of cash and attempted to explain to Henry that it would be difficult to get all the money at once due to ATM cash withdrawl limits. Obviously Henry had some experience with this as he more than suggested we go to different ATMs. I now begin to reflect on all those dateline and 20/20 specials and suddenly remember that last words Meghan's mom said to me before we got on the plane in Denver..."Don't take any unneccessary risks" Well I guess it didn't take long for that to happen. Fortunately or unfortunately (depending on how you look at it), my ATM card would not work at any of the machines in the airport any Meghan was only allowed to take out so much. We again explained the issue with Henry, who let out a deep grunt and eventually accepted the fact that we would have a balanced owed to him. He sternly told us we would have to pay the remaining balance in two days at the main office in town. Once we got all that unpleasantness behind us we asked Henry if he thought that the Hotel would accept Visa and again he said "I think not." He then proceeded to ask how much the rates were, Meghan quickly responded 9,000 Shillings. Not believing us, Henry picked up the phone and proceeded to have a heated swahili conversation with who I could only assume was the hotel. The only words I did recognize was an angry "that's a rip off!" and then an "OK, that's better." He then looked up at us and told us we were OK now and we were then wisked away to our hotel.
A couple days later, on our way out of Kenya, we stopped by the main safari office to pay our balance off. The office was pretty much what you would think a low-brow business in an developing nation would be....dingy. After it was explained to them why I was handing them money by Joash (our traveling companion to be explained at a later date) they still were fairly confused until I told them I was sent by "Henry." The guy helping stopped in his tracks and with pure terror in his eyes, picked up the phone said a few words listened for a good minuite or two then handed me the phone. On the other end I hear "this is big Henry and I would like to thank you for keeping your promise to pay, have a wonderful safari and when you get back call me and I will buy you a coffee for you promise keeping, alleluja..good bye". Not quite sure if I will take him up on the offer, could be interesting.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb