Masailand


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Puppies!!!Puppies!!!Puppies!!!

gorgeous golden retriever puppies at the Bromham's
So after having a few weeks to spare for travelling I have now started my new placement. While I was still in Nairobi I helped out one morning on some home visits that some of the volunteers here have organised. They go around Kibera to bed-ridden AIDS patients and bring them food that they were able to buy with donations - rice, beans, sugar, flour etc - as they can't work due to their illness. It was a really interesting morning as we went to about 5 patients, some of them doing better, some not so. There was one lady (only Rob went in as there was too many of us at once) who was too sick to walk so she was lying in her own vomit, urine and faeces and her daughters were too scared of her to help. She was also very depressed, drinking and had stopped taking her medication. I found out that she is doing better this week though, and her daughters are helping her and have stopped her drinking which is good news. All in all, the home visits were very rewarding and if anyone is interested in donating money towards the food, just email me.

On Tuesday, with my bags packed, I headed out to Saikeri in Masailand. My host family is really nice and although we have no electricity or running water, it's one of the nicest houses there. My host sister Janet is 13 and her english is perfect as her mum, Salome, (who is so sweet) is a teacher at the school, so she's been my translator in the past week.
The school is very interesting, very basic, and teaching has been a challenge as im never really sure if they understand me or not beacuse they're so quiet. I want to plan all these activities but it's difficult because there are no teaching resources except for the teacher's guide. The town is very tiny so there's not much to do in the evenings except visit the volunteer nurses and Maggie at the Clinic and play with some of the kids.

Masailand is really beautiful though, and the sky is so huge and wide that you see the weather approaching which is pretty cool. And the night's sky is amazing - I've never seen so many stars before.

The cattle truck is about to leave for Saikeri so I have to go but I will be back on the net next week!

Advertisement



14th May 2007

your travels sound incredible.. it is all so perfect! put some pics up I want to see what it's all like. Well good luck with everything hans! Missing you heaps xoxoxoxoxoxoxox
21st May 2007

busy busy
LOL Hannah. It sounds incredible that you've done so many (enviable) things in the last month! I wish you all the world's luck for your teaching, but with such enthusiasm I'm sure you will overpass any difficulties. Be careful not to stress you more than you would in Sydney! un abrazo

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb