Back to the basics!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Kajiado
June 4th 2007
Published: June 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

hey everyone! sorry I haven't written for a while (again), just been settling into my new placement which is turning out to be quite challenging.

I've been teaching Standard 4 English and Science and Standard 5 Science for the past few weeks and it has been very difficult as i had no idea what level all the kids were at. There are about 40 kids in each class so its hard to slow down and help the kids that aren't getting it because the quicker kids are telling me that they've finished - if i set them more work, the kids who are slower start to freak out and think that they have to finish that too. Everyday is a new challenge, with alot of ups and downs - sometimes the classes are fantastic and everybody understands and they get involved, then the next class is a disaster, nobody answers the questions and not one student understood. English is really hard, because I have to teach them english grammer when some dont even speak a word of english (which i found out after 2 weeks of teaching in english). I've tried to incorporate the little swahili i know, but its so difficult as they are also learning kiswahili as a second language (their mother tongue is Kimasai).

The classes can sometimes be really disruptive and the kids have a short attention span even though the classes are only 35 minutes. A few times i have gotten so fustrated and have used all the discipline techniques i can think of. My std 5 class was so bad one friday afternoon and would not stop talking, that after the class I spoke to Salome (deputy principal and my host mum) and she wrote down some names and told me not to worry. Monday morning I arrived to class and the kids were absolutely perfect - participating and not making a sound unless answering a question - I think the cane may have been reason!

My family is great - Salome and George are the parents, and the kids are: Lemoyen(i think) (my age ish), Lucy (doesnt live at home, haven't met her yet), Janet (13), Paul (7) and Edwin (8). So there are 7 people living in the tiny house, with all the kids sharing one bedroom with 2 beds, and me with my own bed and my own
Janet and MichelleJanet and MichelleJanet and Michelle

(michelle is maggie's daughter) - so cute!
room (feel a bit bad about that). There's no electricity, so the tv and lights run on either solar power or a generator, but most of the time we use a gas lantern. There's no running water either - jerry cans of water have to be brought in by bicycle from the next town, so I've learnt alot about saving water and its horrifying to think of how much good, clean water i wasted when i was living in Sydney (Sydney residents could use a little advice from the masai!). There were a few incidences with mice and a toad in my room, lots of spiders, hyenas howling through the night, ticks and fleas from the dogs, but overall the conditions are aboslutely fine and I've really enjoyed that way of living (although its nice to go into Nairobi and get a few good meals once in a while).

My family has a dog named Kuja (which means 'come' in kiswahlili) who I've grown really attached to as she is adorable and loves the attention I give to her. She is skin and bone because all she eats is left over ugali (sometimes). We've also recently found 2 kittens who are very cute, but it reminds me how much i miss my dog and cat at home!

I'll update again next week and try to finally upload some photos!

Advertisement



5th June 2007

yay!
I was totally jealous of your kittens but yesterday i arrived back to my village and found that the family we live with bought a new puppy and he is sooooooooooo cute!!! His name is Tax and all the kids are terrified of him but he is so tiny and cute but they all hit him with sticks and throw things at him, its so mean :( I think he has worms too but i don't care, i play with him and snuggle him. Awwww. Animals really do make life so much better!!!! Glad you're enjoying teaching, i can definitely understand your frustrations but hang in there, if you get through to a few of them then you're doing great!! See you in 9 days!!! xxx
15th June 2007

Hi Guzzy, hope you and Sadha have got together by now and had a great time. Love reading your blog and glad you are having such an incredible experience, looking forward to reading more. Keep well and safe and keep having fun, xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb