My site


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
November 6th 2001
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well climbing the mountain was a lot of fun. It took us about an hour to climb up it and another two hours to walk around the crater and another 45 minutes to get back down. It is actually a volcanic crater that has been dorment for some time but it was cool because you could see the the steam rising from certain parts. Our Halloween party at the center was a lot of fun. It was nice to stay there overnight and be able to use "real" bathrooms. I am covered with bug bites though I think from planning manhunt. This Friday we find out where our sites will be and I'm pretty excited to be almost done with training.

Nov 9th

I finally found out what my placement will be I'll be doing microfinance and nutrition work on a twon near Mount Kenya. It's not exactly what I wanted but I hear that my site will have water and electricity which is a major plus. Next week I will be spending the week at my new site and I can't wait to tell you all about it. There is also another vounteer living pretty close by (about an hour away) so we will be making most of the trip out to site together. It's cool because we get along and it will be nice to have a friend close by.

Nov 10th

So I looked up my site in lonely planet and it said "It is a town where very few people stay overnight and with good reason because there is little to see or do there" sounds exciting doesn't it. I don't care I'm still excited to finally start what I came here to do. We have to take a matatu to Nairobi and then another up to my site. Matatus are definitely the worst way to travel I have ever experienced. I mean whoever thought of smushing as many people into a mini van as possible and then fly over potholes and bumps while going as fast as possible with the door wide open was definitely not the greatest inventor ever. I'll tell you all about it when I get back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb