Already lost one


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 18th 2001
Published: July 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So far training has not been that interesting. I really like the family I'm staying with and trying hard to adjust to no running water and no electricity. Nights are the hardest. Yesterday I found a giant spider in my room as I was writing a letter home and every once in awhile I find a cockroach in my bed. So far it's pretty hard to tell what I'm going to think about the next two years. Training is so much like being in school again that it's not much fun at all. It also been frustrating that communication with anyone back home is so hard. So far we have already lost one person. She was older and I guess just too set in her ways to adjust to the change. A bunch of us plan to go camping at Hell's Gate this weekend which should be a lot of fun. It's really nice to be able to camp without a tent and just sleep under the stars which seem so much brighter here than they ever were at home. It's also really exciting to be so close to animals that I normally only get to see in the zoo. Today someone from the embassy came to give us a speech about safety he called us potential crime victums (get it- ha ha PCV- Pece Corps Volunteers- none of us laughed that hard either). I've heard a lot of interesting sayings about PC- the toughest job you'll never do or the longest vacation you'll ever hate- I'm hoping that once I'm out in the field it won't really be like that. Right now it's raining- it's rained every single day for the past week but it only rains for about 30 minutes. It turns all the red dirt into mud though and as a result most of my clothes now have a pinkish tint. I guess it's no big deal I mean I only have to wear them for the next two years.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb