Being home


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
December 11th 2006
Published: December 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I wanted to take a moment to write since I have been home for about a month now from Kibera. My time there has opened my eyes in many ways.....mostly in being thankful for all I have. We are so fortunate here in the U.S.

While in Kenya I had many amazing experiences and some were very hard to see. I think that over all the happiness of the people may be what surprised me the most. They live their lives to the fullest. Persevering through many hardships in situations that most of us could not imagine. These people work and make a living. Children who can go to school. The only difference I saw was the poverty. And this does not stop the people from living their lives to the fullest. This sort of bravery astonishes me still. I am proud to call so many of them my friends.

As you know without sewage and garbage disposal it makes for very dirty and unhealthy living conditions. Through Dan Ogola's non-profit, Community Support Group (http://www.csgkibera.org/) I was able to start working on some projects to help in Kibera. The money that I took from the donatoins of people like you, has helped in many ways. One way is the waste management program and another big way is in helping educate the children of Kibera through SEED Junior Academy. I was there to watch the donation start helping in ways like setting up the class room and making chalk boards.

If you have any questions about wanting to help make a difference in Kibera please feel free to contact me or Dan directly through his CSG website that I listed above. You can even sponsor a child to attend school.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb