Giraffe Tongue


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
October 23rd 2006
Published: October 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I have a few minutes before bed and since I am at a fancy hotel I have decided to make use of this "cyber cafe". I just had a wonderful curry for dinner and then a night stroll down the beach. I am in Mombasa. I arrived with two friends last night. The journey took 8 hours by bus (a real bus not a matatu) we got stuck once and the whole bus gets off and we all just look at the bus....like looking at it long enough and hard enough may do something. The men gather and start directing the bus driver and finally he tries to move again. It is hot and the sun is blazing over us. I am so thirsty but fear to drink any water because there is no where to go to the bathroom and we still have a long drive ahead of us. Somehow we get the bus unstuck and we are piled back on. The journey begins and we are to a part of the road that is so bad that we can only go about 20mph. Once we finally do arrive in Mombasa we have to find our way to the beach that we want to stay at. It took 5 matatus and one ferry to get there. WOW! Talk about exhausted. We could not find a room and finally settled on the expensive one....PRAISE GOD for credit cards! It is my first real shower all month....and hot too! I have showered 3 times already since last night when we arrived.....isn't that awful??? Mombasa is very beautiful. There are so many palm trees and the white sandy beach is lovely. This is my first time to see the Indian Ocean....it is warm. I met so many interesting people today as I walked along the beach. I took a lot of pictures too. People sure love the polaroid! It is a hot item here and it makes me popular 😊 I watched a man snorkle and when he came up he had an octopus.....he took it on land and started beating it like crazy on the beach. I could not watch! Then I saw a woman with an octopus in each hand doing the same! Who knew they beat them like that to kill them???

The sun was not out today.....but it was so humid (Amelia...you must know what my hair looked like in that humidity)! And even without the sun overhead I could hardly open my eyes...it was so bright. I also got a lot of color today even with sun block...the sun is so massive here.

I truly needed this break. It has revived me after so many hard moments. I feel relaxed here.

On some more happy notes (my last entry was a downer) I wanted to say that I kissed a giraffe.....I mean literaly....like 5 times. I had this treat and she wanted it from my mouth so she took it.......this guy was trying to capture the picture on my camera and he kept missing it when he snapped it.....so he made me do it again and again. In the end I have the picture of the tongue slurping up my face and believe me...it is a funny sight. I also have it on video so be sure to ask to see it when you come to visit me at home. I love giraffes.....they are so darn cute. I also hung out with some baby elephants at an elephant orphanage. I pet one and it was a strange feeling. Then later I also pet a cheetah.....I was so afraid at first but he purrrrred and I was so excited to be petting him.

I am finally missing home and look forward to hearing what is happening with all of you. Send your smiles when you can. Hugs.

Advertisement



23rd October 2006

Missing ya
Sounds like you are having an amazing time!
23rd October 2006

WOW, What a trip so far!
HI Amy, Just wanted to say HI and let you know you're in our prayers. We can't wait to hear more about your trip and see all the pictures. Everytime Marcy and I read your blogs, we are saddened that we are not there yet look forward to getting there even more!
24th October 2006

AMY! I am soooo excited and sad and moved to read about your experiences. Whew girl, i can't wait to see you when you return and see all the pictures and hear MORE stories. I love you very very much. ox Zelda
25th October 2006

Giraffe
Amy-so glad you are getting a bit of a reprieve and some rest. Enjoy it while you can. You are right--we have so much...
25th October 2006

for my next trick...
hey lady, smacking lips with a giraffe? why, i never! (but i can't wait to see the picures!!!!) oh, and i hope to hear more about the baby elephants sometime. it is butt cold here in madison (20s at night, freezing to 40s during the day). some snow! Brrrrrrrrr. and at the same time there are leaves a-plenty still falling. and as is also seasonally appropriate, there's a lot of good music coming thru town too. (i keep running into jordy at all of the best shows.) glad you were able to bathe at last. i just about wanted a hot shower when i got done reading :) take care and contiued safe travels, superstar. love, susanne

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb