Crazy roads!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Eastern Province » Maua
April 24th 2008
Published: April 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rev. TonyRev. TonyRev. Tony

Tony inside of the small school which is connected with the church.
What an adventure we had today! I went out with Tony on the circuit while he preached to a youth council. The road there rivals (and in our opinion, beats) the stories of roads crossing rivers which my Dad told me about when he travelled around Mexico when I was a kid. We went to the church in a 1970’s Land Rover which was exactly like the one we had in the 90’s when I was a kid in Costa Rica (I may have thought it to be the same one, if the steering wheel had been on the other side of the car). The drive took about 45 minutes, much of which was along a road which would have been considered an unmaintained hiking trail in WA State. Tony and I were both sincerely amazed that the old Land Rover was not only able to make it along the road, but did not end up popping a tire on any of the crazy huge rocks all on the road. These pictures do not do the road justice. As it turns out, this area was uninhabited until about 20 years ago, and is about 6 km from the Meru National Park.
PreachingPreachingPreaching

Tony giving his sermon, while it is translated into Kimeru.
So, they said that sometimes you see lions, elephants, etc. around the church area! We only saw some big lizards…

Once we arrived at the church, Tony gave a sermon to the youth. After his sermon, the Rev. James Muriki gave a one hour speech about courtship, engagement, and marriage. After his sermon, was a question/answer time. The kids wrote out their questions, and he answered them aloud so that you could be anonymous in the asking. Some of the questions were: “If my boyfriend tells me he loves me, how do I know that he really does or if he’s just saying it?” “If my wife that I marry is not able to bear children, is it ok for me to marry someone else too?” “If the wife is unable to bear children, is it ever the man’s fault?” “My girlfriend is from a rich family, and her parents say we cannot get married. What can I do?” “If I know that I will marry my girlfriend 100%, why is it wrong for me to go to bed with her?” The Rev. answered the questions as best he could, and he ended up asking for assistance from some
YouthYouthYouth

The youth of this circuit listen to the sermons.
of the other ministers for some of the questions. We learned that the Methodist church of Kenya (MCK) is officially against female circumcision, and the church in Kenya (Methodist and others) encourages the young men to be circumcised in a hospital, rather than out in the bush (or wherever the alternative may be!). Also, the church is officially against men having more than one wife, and against divorce. A very interesting discussion indeed!

After the service, we had a meal of rice and beef/potato stew, which was given very graciously to us. Then we got back into the Land Rover and drove back to the hospital. Tony said he prayed the entire time we were in the car. I was just glad I now have a story to rival the ones I have always heard from my Dad!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Potty?Potty?
Potty?

Here is the bathroom I used.
ChurchChurch
Church

Here is the small church and the amazing Land Rover!
Traffic?Traffic?
Traffic?

Here was our competition on the rocky road.
The roadThe road
The road

This picture does not do it justice (of course). Even the video we got doesn't... you just had to be there!
More road...More road...
More road...

More of the same rocky wonder as taken from the backseat, pointing behind the car.
Mud slide!Mud slide!
Mud slide!

Here was a very muddy part of the road. The camera isn't tipped, the car is! :)
Smiling!Smiling!
Smiling!

I'm still smiling, while Tony was praying in the front seat:).


24th April 2008

the roads!
Starla, now you know what we were talking about!!!! Isn't it fun :) This last summer we would just hang on to the bars above our heads and pray that we would make it up to the house and back down to the hospital. It looks like you may be traveling in the same jeep we were in this summer. There was a sticker on the back window about proper preperation...
24th April 2008

What a story!
Yeah, Starla, you win! Your story is awesome! And even though we have our Land Rover experiences to remember, I bet there was a whole lot more praying going on in yours than ours so many years ago! :) Poor Tony!!! You are breaking him into the missionary life with vengeance! I loved the questions from the students...did yall get to answer any of them? I'm so glad you got to travel with Tony, what a great thing to share. And what was the potty thing? I am not sure exactly what I was looking at,,,,but not sure if I really wanted to know what I was looking at. I LOVE YOUR BLOGS! THey are my highlight every day. I love you both dearly. Mom
24th April 2008

Great Stuff
boy do I remember the Kenya roads ... like driving through ravines. This looks like the true African experience! Tony you like like an expert up there with the interpreter. I love the pics of the Camilions ... what a great shot where the claw (?) of the one is holding the horn of the other - it a good way to keep your guys in line. Love ya!
26th April 2008

bathroom
so...should we send you toilet paper for that bathroom? or did the branches tickle? :P
29th April 2008

OH MY !
Hey guys . WOW ! I am so proud of you guys. This all looks like such an exciting adventure. I really can't wait to hear all about it in person ;) Stay safe and have a blast. Tony, remember you used to drive through the ghetto and came out with out a scratch. Whats a little mud slide right ;D I love you guys .

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb