Halfway There


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Eastern Province » Maua
April 29th 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LaundryLaundryLaundry

Women do laundry as their children are staying in the pediatric ward of the hospital.
Hello there. We are 3 weeks into our working time in Maua, this means it's the halfway point: we will leave to go on Safari 3 weeks from this Wednesday. Time is going by pretty quickly for us, with many new experiences.

This weekend was a good one. Saturday we hiked around a ridge in Maua with the Sarsons and Katherine. We hiked to an area that is apparently an old volcanic crater. Very beautiful and lush, and I think I've mentioned before that the area reminds me so much of Costa Rica. On the way down, we ended up in someone's yard/garden area, and couldn't find our way back to the trail. A young man with a US Marines shirt on helped us to find our way back. Tony took a picture with him, and I am including a picture of his siblings in their beautiful back yard.

Sunday we attended the LONGEST SERVICE EVER at Kiegoi Methodist Church. It was very good, although it started at 10 am and ended at 3 pm. Apparently, every once in awhile they hold a service which includes all of the churches in one circuit, so there were over 500 people
PharmacyPharmacyPharmacy

This is the hospital pharmacy.
in attendance, and so many programs they did that day. We heard many songs and dances, and Tony was able to participate in serving communion.

Today I spent the day in the surgical ward of the hospital. David Sarson, the British retired surgeon, allowed me to come in to the "theatre" (or O.R.) to witness a surgery for a man who had his hand mostly chopped of by a "panga", much like a large machete. This was something I never saw in the US! He had his camera, and took a picture of me in scrubs, and I took a couple of him doing the surgery, and once I get a copy from him, I will post them. Tony spent the day today preparing for the annual synod meeting this Thurs-Sat. Also, he worked on the hospital video.

Well, I typed all of the above yesterday, then when I started attatching photos, the electricity went out so I had to "abort" my mission😊. So, I'm back today (Tues), and I have added photos. Also, I will add that today I spent the day in the "Theatre". I saw many interesting surgeries, and I also witnessed a skin grafting
IT TonyIT TonyIT Tony

Tony working on the hospital video in the office.
for a poor woman with 54% burns on her body. It was just about the grossest thing I've ever seen, and I felt so much for the poor lady with the burns. Tony has been gone today with the Reverend youth leader, and he should be back very soon.

Until later!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Rev. TonyRev. Tony
Rev. Tony

Tony with Bishop Kaiga, the pastor of the church, and the local evangelist (who is also a nurse with his own clinic).
A/GA/G
A/G

So, the A/G church has made it to Maua as well... We took this pic on our walk up to the hills.
D. SarsonD. Sarson
D. Sarson

Mr. Sarson, showing the kids the photos he just took of them. They loved getting their pictures taken!
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

Beautiful flowers, which look an awful lot like bananas.
The groupThe group
The group

The hiking group, minus Tony who was taking the picture. Notice Mary has on two hats?? :)
Us on the ridgeUs on the ridge
Us on the ridge

Tony and I with a beautiful background.
MillipedeMillipede
Millipede

Tony holding an African millipede. This one he didn't keep as a pet! :)
Tea fieldTea field
Tea field

Me in a beautiful tea field on top of the ridge around Maua.
US MarinesUS Marines
US Marines

Tony and our helper with the US Marine's shirt on. Tony told the guy he wanted a picture with him, since his brother-in-law is a marine.
KidsKids
Kids

Here are the kids who live in the house on top of the ridge.
StorkStork
Stork

No, the stork didn't bring us any package:). But it was a very beautiful stork around "malaria lake" at the end of our hike!


29th April 2008

"malaria lake"
How 'bout that "malaria lake"? Sounds like a nice place for a picnic:-) You guys have had such great adventures. Praise God for all that you've been experiencing! I've been keeping an eye on all the news out of General Conference this week. Tony will have to catch-up when he returns...but if you can, remember to keep it in prayer. Pax
29th April 2008

Thanks to invite us to your blog
Hi Starla - So surprise to receive your email from Kenya. It's so nice to visit your blog, and I am sure that everyone in our 07' RN class enjoy your journal as I do. By just reading your journals and viewing pictures that you posted, I am witnessing the growth of a still "new" RN. I felt my heart was pounding with a mixed feeling of "I wish I were there too" and "Do I have a big heart as Starla's?" I admire you and Tony's courage and the passion to serve people. You and Tony are definitely in my prayer list now.
29th April 2008

take all the pictures you want of the OR room, but DO NOT BLOG THEM! I love you dearly! MOm
30th April 2008

wundaful!
here is a song ... sung for you in my best African accent - wundaful - wundaful, Jesus is to Me ... counselor ... prince of peace ... mighty God is he! Lovin the updates ... man time is flying by! You guys look great! I praise God that he is keeping you well! Even as you wander through peoples backyards.
1st May 2008

Hi Starla, Wow! Such great adventures! I'm loving the pictures and stories. I agree with your mom about the pictures of the "theatre", though! I don't need any reminders of my experiences with burn patients!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb